Jul. 1st, 2006

quiet_tiger: (Joker)
Just saw Superman Returns. I'm too tired to say much on it now, but I will say this: Clark/Supes: Good. Lex Luthor: Awesome. Special effects: Rockin'. Lois Lane: I wanted to throttle her in every single scene. I guess it's just impossible to make her not idiotic.

More comments on that tomorrow.

Major scare last night when my computer was unresponsive and thus did not turn on. Nor did it function this morning. Needless to say, worrying about it all day did not make my day good. But, once I got back from the movie, I called up the company, and the dude on the phone was able to help me. Thank God. Some sort of static electricity thing with the battery. Or, at least that was the excuse. *shrugs*

The important thing is that my computer works.

Work in general was just awful. As the dude I like put it, "Hurry up and do nothing." That definitely described my day. Trying to do things and not being able to do them. Thank God I have him to talk to, it really brightens up my day. It's also frustrating, but, still. It's nice; he's cool.

Another MSN article, this time on superhero movies.

I haven't seen all of then so I can't talk about a lot of them. But, rock on, Batman. My favorite part of the article (other than a lot of Marvel's movies being on the Suck list), is this line: Only one film per franchise, and the heroes in question had to either have superpowers (sorry, Indiana Jones) or technology that bordered on the unbelievably fantastic (Batman, yes; James Bond, not quite).

When James Bond starts wearing tights, he can be considered a super hero. Until then, Batman is king of oodles of fancy technology. and hot dark haired boys.

*yawn*
quiet_tiger: (DC is Crack)
Like I said last night, there were a number of good things about Superman Returns.

There were also a number of ridiculous/irritating things.

Surely saying there are spoilers under the cut is redundant? )

So, basically, some of the movie was pretty cool. Some of it was even great. Some of it sucked. But I'm glad I saw it. Last night I was in real need of some eye candy and mindless entertainment, and I definitely got it with this. Though I may be thinking too much of it through now...

ETA: So, if this is supposed to theoretically be a sequel to Superman II, it's really helpful that I haven't seen that movie in at least ten years... All I remember from it is the other Kryptonians. I don't care if this is supposed to be a direct sequel, the original came out twenty years ago. It needs more back story so idle viewers aren't as confused as I am. Hell, a minute or two of flashbacks interspersed would have done the job nicely. (contrasting my feelings for Batman Begins, which has just *too* much explication for past events and thus drags a little).
quiet_tiger: (Default)
This one (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/13556951/) had this to say about Smallville:

The current show “Smallville,” goes further. It’s all Clark all the time. The producers came up with an early rule — No tights, no flights — and they’ve adhered to it.

“Smallville” is actually one of the best revisionist looks at the Superman myth. The Kryptonian baby arrives during a meteor shower that does bad stuff to people in Smallville — giving him requisite “supervillains” to battle. Clark’s own powers accumulate via a kind of super-adolescence he doesn’t understand. Only slowly does he learn where he’s from and much of that knowledge is unwanted. The show is one long bildungsroman. We know what he will become, and it’s fun watching him not quite get there.

Initially this Clark was the town nerd who fumbled and collapsed around Lana Lang because of her kryptonite necklace, but eventually it became silly pretending actor Tom Welling wasn’t 6-foot-3 and model-handsome. So they didn’t. They fetishized him. Many episodes wind up with Clark tied up and/or shirtless. “Who’s the hottie in the primary colors?” says a new girl in town. The first time Lois Lane sees him he’s standing in a field without a stitch on. This is Clark for girls as opposed to boys. He’s mild-mannered, hot and rescues everyone. Clark isn’t an everyman here, he’s a superman. The break hasn’t been made yet.



First of all, the no tights, no flights rule has been broken mulitple times- blame it on "Kal" if you want, but Clark has flown.

And it's *not* fun watching him get there! Not like this! I don't want to watch him mope around about Lana!

How many episodes have Clark "tied up/or shirtless"? Sure, some, like Spell, but not like every single ep. Not that I'm complaining about topless Tom Welling.

Note the writer doesn't say anything about how weird it is that stupid Lois being around. And how because Clark isn't all dorky and wearing ill-fitting suits there's no way in hell that unless Lois suffers brain damage sometime over the next few years (not out of the question at the rate she's going) she isn't going to not recognize Clark as Superman?

Why does reading articles about Smallville make me all agitated?

Clark and Lex on the show are definitely all for the girls...

There's also a link on the second page of the article to an MSNBC news thingy about whether or not Supes is gay. Then it devolves into whether or not he's a Christ figure, which is a bit off-topic, but some of the dicussion is amusing.
quiet_tiger: (Joker)
Just finished watching the original Batman movie.

Damn, it's good.

Jack Nicholson is absolutely amazing. One of his lines even has him calling Batman "Batsy."

Michael Keaton seems a bit expressive for Batman, but that's okay. He's Michael Keaton so he rocks. The guy at work's been raving about Beetlejuice for two days, so MK has been on my mind.

Duh, I've seen it before, just not all at once in a long, long time.

The only bad part is it's so 1980s.

Damn, Danny Elfman writes amazing stuff. Why didn't anyone at my undergrad school know who he is?

Long live Batman!

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags