quiet_tiger (
quiet_tiger) wrote2006-07-01 06:31 pm
'Nother Supes article
This one (http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/13556951/) had this to say about Smallville:
The current show “Smallville,” goes further. It’s all Clark all the time. The producers came up with an early rule — No tights, no flights — and they’ve adhered to it.
“Smallville” is actually one of the best revisionist looks at the Superman myth. The Kryptonian baby arrives during a meteor shower that does bad stuff to people in Smallville — giving him requisite “supervillains” to battle. Clark’s own powers accumulate via a kind of super-adolescence he doesn’t understand. Only slowly does he learn where he’s from and much of that knowledge is unwanted. The show is one long bildungsroman. We know what he will become, and it’s fun watching him not quite get there.
Initially this Clark was the town nerd who fumbled and collapsed around Lana Lang because of her kryptonite necklace, but eventually it became silly pretending actor Tom Welling wasn’t 6-foot-3 and model-handsome. So they didn’t. They fetishized him. Many episodes wind up with Clark tied up and/or shirtless. “Who’s the hottie in the primary colors?” says a new girl in town. The first time Lois Lane sees him he’s standing in a field without a stitch on. This is Clark for girls as opposed to boys. He’s mild-mannered, hot and rescues everyone. Clark isn’t an everyman here, he’s a superman. The break hasn’t been made yet.
First of all, the no tights, no flights rule has been broken mulitple times- blame it on "Kal" if you want, but Clark has flown.
And it's *not* fun watching him get there! Not like this! I don't want to watch him mope around about Lana!
How many episodes have Clark "tied up/or shirtless"? Sure, some, like Spell, but not like every single ep. Not that I'm complaining about topless Tom Welling.
Note the writer doesn't say anything about how weird it is that stupid Lois being around. And how because Clark isn't all dorky and wearing ill-fitting suits there's no way in hell that unless Lois suffers brain damage sometime over the next few years (not out of the question at the rate she's going) she isn't going to not recognize Clark as Superman?
Why does reading articles about Smallville make me all agitated?
Clark and Lex on the show are definitely all for the girls...
There's also a link on the second page of the article to an MSNBC news thingy about whether or not Supes is gay. Then it devolves into whether or not he's a Christ figure, which is a bit off-topic, but some of the dicussion is amusing.
The current show “Smallville,” goes further. It’s all Clark all the time. The producers came up with an early rule — No tights, no flights — and they’ve adhered to it.
“Smallville” is actually one of the best revisionist looks at the Superman myth. The Kryptonian baby arrives during a meteor shower that does bad stuff to people in Smallville — giving him requisite “supervillains” to battle. Clark’s own powers accumulate via a kind of super-adolescence he doesn’t understand. Only slowly does he learn where he’s from and much of that knowledge is unwanted. The show is one long bildungsroman. We know what he will become, and it’s fun watching him not quite get there.
Initially this Clark was the town nerd who fumbled and collapsed around Lana Lang because of her kryptonite necklace, but eventually it became silly pretending actor Tom Welling wasn’t 6-foot-3 and model-handsome. So they didn’t. They fetishized him. Many episodes wind up with Clark tied up and/or shirtless. “Who’s the hottie in the primary colors?” says a new girl in town. The first time Lois Lane sees him he’s standing in a field without a stitch on. This is Clark for girls as opposed to boys. He’s mild-mannered, hot and rescues everyone. Clark isn’t an everyman here, he’s a superman. The break hasn’t been made yet.
First of all, the no tights, no flights rule has been broken mulitple times- blame it on "Kal" if you want, but Clark has flown.
And it's *not* fun watching him get there! Not like this! I don't want to watch him mope around about Lana!
How many episodes have Clark "tied up/or shirtless"? Sure, some, like Spell, but not like every single ep. Not that I'm complaining about topless Tom Welling.
Note the writer doesn't say anything about how weird it is that stupid Lois being around. And how because Clark isn't all dorky and wearing ill-fitting suits there's no way in hell that unless Lois suffers brain damage sometime over the next few years (not out of the question at the rate she's going) she isn't going to not recognize Clark as Superman?
Why does reading articles about Smallville make me all agitated?
Clark and Lex on the show are definitely all for the girls...
There's also a link on the second page of the article to an MSNBC news thingy about whether or not Supes is gay. Then it devolves into whether or not he's a Christ figure, which is a bit off-topic, but some of the dicussion is amusing.

no subject
Why the hell didn't Clark keep his dork glasses in season three? I was like YES! THE GLASSES! But then they were gone by the end of the episode??? Clark is definitely cuter when he's being dorky. When he does his dorkball grin. Lex is equally cute when he's being dorky or evil.
On Lois and brain damage:
Lois verse Lex. Drinking contest. How long does it go on and who wins? I know Lex has more body weight and more experience, but Lois has a weird ability to stay on her feet after downing large amounts of alcohol. And Lex has all that head trauma.
no subject
Clark looked pretty cute in those glasses. But I guess since he doesn't actually need them, AlMiles decided to do away with them. He's totally adorable when he's being dorky, with that huge grin. It's why season one and parts of season 2 are really good. And then the moping started. It's so frustrating. I like dorky, silly Lex, too. I miss these dorky boys!
Hmmm. I'd like to think Lex wins. And Lois slips into a coma. You make a good point, Lex is still fully functional even afer all his head trauma. Why can't Lois realize Clark is Superman without him telling her?
no subject
I can see some of Clark's stress in season three. All his friends punk out on him except for Lex, who gets his brain fried. After awhile, he needed to get over it and realize who really loved him the most (albiet in an obsessive really does need some ongoing therapy kind of way).
I think they'd both wind up in the hospital from alcohol poisoning before giving in. Screw you liver! But probably Lex would win. Alcoholism and mutations trump stubborn, I guess.
no subject
And yeah, season 3 was where Clark's life really went down the tubes, and poor Lex... The CoCK really was a sign of love. Just, creepy love. Lex is better now though, right?
Lex doesn't need his liver. He can grow a new one. Lois doesn't even use her brain, so she probably doesn't need some of her other organs, either. It wuold make a fun fic though, a Lois/Lex drinking contest.
no subject
*insert snarky Lanaville comment here*
I bet if he wore glasses, she wouldn't be interested in him anymore. I think Lex is the only guy with a physical imperfection that she's paid any attention to (money money money).
Lex is better now though, right?
I think Lex is worse now, actually. And it's only going to go downhill, because we know his obsession is only going to grow deeper and deeper.
It wuold make a fun fic though, a Lois/Lex drinking contest.
That's what I'm thinking. Whenever they get together it's a snarkfest. I really like Lois apart from her dumbness (I know I know). I think together they would be good friends and maybe Lex could coerce her into being less stupid. Because there is NO REASON Lois should be that stupid if she's going to be an ace reporter someday (other than, you know the GLASSES thing).
no subject
I wish there were more CLex now so I could tell how crazy Lex is. He's all distracted with Lana and Fine, though. But he doesn't have a shrine to either of them.
I like Lois when she's all snarky with Clark, because Clark needs to be snarked at. And sometimes she's sorta cool. They just make her stupid. And there's just no way the Lois they gave us will be the Lois of the future! She's a drop out with no inclinations towards journalism at all!
no subject
Lois should definitely stick to the snark. Lois' big journalistic impulse is pretty much to slander Lex. I don't know why they dropped the hint that she was in it to take down dirty politicians and just shoved her in as a (underqualified) campaign manager. I can see her going BACK to college, but she'll have to go to Central or somewhere else because she was kicked out for alcohol (heh). And she should have started back by now.
no subject
Couldn't tell ya.
I don't think Lex could handle looking at a shrine that would have to be *that* pink. And if Lana saw it, she'd probably either get creeped out and find a way to get posessed by something, or love it to the point of having Lex put it in the foyer so everyone could see it and she could gloat about Lex's devotion.
That's the problem with SV's Lois. They keep telling us stuff about her and hinting, but they aren't showing us anything. She certainly isn't up to Chloe's caliber. And she wasn't qualified at *all* to be a campaign manager. That was completely ridiculous. Especially for *Senate*.
In order to get her degree in journalism and get her butt into the Planet, she needs to get back to school now and stop stripping and crushing on swimmers and "running" campaigns and whatever the hell else she's been doing with her time.
no subject
That's what I'm screaming. She's had like a year and a half off of school. Time to go back. XP
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I love how they write Lionel and Lex however, especially when they're facing off.
And oh, why is there a big difference betweem "Kal" in Crusade and Clark? I still don't get it. I thought Clark is Kal is Superman? There was never any sort of hidden Kal in my opinion.
I might get smite for this, but I like the Lana character. HOWEVER, not on the show. I always say I wish for the Lana from the Superman Animated series. The pining should've stopped halfway through the series or they're o good grounds by now in my opinion, and Pete would have helped with Lana "getting over" Clark. Why stray from the comics so much?
Anyway, those are just my opinions.
no subject
""
Well, it *is* Smallville. I wouldn't hold your breath.
The Luthor interactions are the best part of the show, which is why Luthor-centric eps like Shattered and Memoria are fan favorites. What's *not* to like about Lionel and Lex facing off?! It's great stuff, really, one of the reasons I still watch the show (Clark just doesn't do it for me).
""
Kal in Crusade is part of Smallville canon, because Kal is simply Clark with his inhibitions stripped away by Red Kryptonite. In the books, Kal is Clark's actual first name, which is why people call him that, and Kal-as-Superman is just Clark. Crusade/Smallville Kal is a different creature, a strong creature with heat vision who isn't afraid of anything.
Lana might not be so bad on her own, I just hate the Clana. Like, after rewatching my Season 1 dvds, I didn't find her that irritating. I just hate her with Clark and Lex. I don't remember the cartoon well enough to say anything about her characterization there. The CLana should have definitely been dealt with earler, not letting it drag out for FIVE years. No one cares anymore, and it's sickening to watch them interact. And break up what, every ep for five eps in a row? Gimme a break.
""
I can understand wanting to make the show your own, and different, but Smallville has *destroyed* Superman. I don't understand it at *all*.
Opinionate away. =P
no subject
Gotta love Lionel/Lex. I would have liked Lex to kill Lionel to take over... sans all this Jor-El business. I did it. lol!
Yeah, I got that. I know all about it. :) Wonder Woman calls Superman Kal. I'm just saying that why does it have to be like what they did on Smallville? If there was anything to do with the name Kal, Clark would have just accepted that he is Kal-El, last son of Krypton. What would happen when Diana starts calling him Kal? Oh, the drama? "There was a time I was on Red Krytonite..." *shakes head*
The Lana character in the animated series learned about Clark's powers when he rescued someone. They had been friends before, but not as close to bf/gf just yet. He was also wearing glasses. :D She saw it all. She became very close to him. It's sort of what's happening with Chloe. But of course, there was the eventual breakdown or Clark left Lana and Smallville behind. She wasn't happy, but she accepted because it was best for him.
In the comics, Lana end marrying Pete and having a kid called Clark. Funny thing is, Pete, even though he hates Lex, helps out Lex Luthor in his Presidential run... straining Pete and Lana's relationship. SO much good material to work with. At this point in the show, Pete marrying Lana is very far off. If he was there and they went along those lines in the comics, I would have loved it.
After that long rant about Lana, the writing for their relationship is just awful. Like I said, Superman Animated series please. :D
Smallville had a lot of potential, but what's happened so far I really didn't expect. However, Lex/Lionel; love it! :D
no subject
He can, too! At least Batman *sort* of makes sense. =p
I don't think AlMiles are thinking far enough ahead to account for other heroes calling Clark by his real name. They like to think they do, what with the extra heroes making their way to Smallville, but they really don't.
Yeah, I know Lana and Clark wind up married in the comics and Pete helps Clark, and SV tried to allude to the latter by having Pete help Clark run for class President, but at this point I think it's safe to say we shouldn't worry about the future in the comics, at least not the more secondary facts. The show just screwed everything up.
For all the darn Clana build up, their "first time" scene was pathetic. It was barely even there. Not that I *want* to see them boinking, but after building up to it for so long, you'd think they'd give fans *something*. Heck, Lex and Fine practically had more sex on screen than Clark and Lana did.
I don't think any fans expected SV to suck this much and screw everything up so bad. It all just happened so *quickly*. Season three wasn't great but it wasn't attrocious, season 4 just... damn. All I gotta say.
no subject
I'm still a bit "Huh" with AC and Bart, though I really enjoyed Bart and that ep. I don't think they should've showed up at this point in Clark's life. In any case, Clark still has to meet Bruce and boy does it get interesting. lol!
no subject
You a member of
I could sorta understand AC, and I didn't like Bart because it shouldn't have been "Bart," it should have been Barry or Jay, but I liked the character. What I really didn't understand was bringing in Cyborg. Makes no sense at all.
I really, really wish they could bring in Bruce, but they can't. I'm sorta afraid what they'd do to screw him up, anyway. I just have such a strong idea of Bruce in my own head, and I know AlMiles wouldn't have the same guy that I see. It would be really interesting to see if Bruce had the chemistry with Lex that Lex has with everyone else.
no subject
No, I'm not a member. Do you think my fic Adore will be okay to post? It's a Smallville/Batman Begins crossover, but the pairings aren't for everyone.
When Andrea guest starred I kept saying: "You aint seen nothing yet." :D
no subject
no subject
no subject