quiet_tiger (
quiet_tiger) wrote2006-07-01 12:27 am
Non-roommate updates.
Just saw Superman Returns. I'm too tired to say much on it now, but I will say this: Clark/Supes: Good. Lex Luthor: Awesome. Special effects: Rockin'. Lois Lane: I wanted to throttle her in every single scene. I guess it's just impossible to make her not idiotic.
More comments on that tomorrow.
Major scare last night when my computer was unresponsive and thus did not turn on. Nor did it function this morning. Needless to say, worrying about it all day did not make my day good. But, once I got back from the movie, I called up the company, and the dude on the phone was able to help me. Thank God. Some sort of static electricity thing with the battery. Or, at least that was the excuse. *shrugs*
The important thing is that my computer works.
Work in general was just awful. As the dude I like put it, "Hurry up and do nothing." That definitely described my day. Trying to do things and not being able to do them. Thank God I have him to talk to, it really brightens up my day. It's also frustrating, but, still. It's nice; he's cool.
Another MSN article, this time on superhero movies.
I haven't seen all of then so I can't talk about a lot of them. But, rock on, Batman. My favorite part of the article (other than a lot of Marvel's movies being on the Suck list), is this line: Only one film per franchise, and the heroes in question had to either have superpowers (sorry, Indiana Jones) or technology that bordered on the unbelievably fantastic (Batman, yes; James Bond, not quite).
When James Bond starts wearing tights, he can be considered a super hero. Until then, Batman is king of oodles of fancy technology.and hot dark haired boys.
*yawn*
More comments on that tomorrow.
Major scare last night when my computer was unresponsive and thus did not turn on. Nor did it function this morning. Needless to say, worrying about it all day did not make my day good. But, once I got back from the movie, I called up the company, and the dude on the phone was able to help me. Thank God. Some sort of static electricity thing with the battery. Or, at least that was the excuse. *shrugs*
The important thing is that my computer works.
Work in general was just awful. As the dude I like put it, "Hurry up and do nothing." That definitely described my day. Trying to do things and not being able to do them. Thank God I have him to talk to, it really brightens up my day. It's also frustrating, but, still. It's nice; he's cool.
Another MSN article, this time on superhero movies.
I haven't seen all of then so I can't talk about a lot of them. But, rock on, Batman. My favorite part of the article (other than a lot of Marvel's movies being on the Suck list), is this line: Only one film per franchise, and the heroes in question had to either have superpowers (sorry, Indiana Jones) or technology that bordered on the unbelievably fantastic (Batman, yes; James Bond, not quite).
When James Bond starts wearing tights, he can be considered a super hero. Until then, Batman is king of oodles of fancy technology.
*yawn*

no subject
I'm surprised Sky High wasn't on there. Spy Kids was pretty good, although I've never made the effort to see the sequels. Without Alan Cummings as the "villain"... I dunno.
If there's an awesome Luthor and quiet__tiger approval, I may have to scrounge some funds and go see this movie.
no subject
I haven't seen Sky High or Spy Kids, but I've heard they're good. I love robert Rodriguez, so I should really see Spy Kids.
Kevin Spacey is *so* good as Luthor. Totally different from the woobiefied Lex that we know and love. I did have a lot of problems with the movie, mainly things like physics and Lois, but I think you should see it to see it. It's eye candy, if nothing else.
no subject
It pisses me off so much that these people can't give me a decent female lead. How hard can it BE?
no subject
Maybe DC just doesn't give movie people enough to work with? Then again, you'd think Catwoman would have been decent based on what there was to work with. It would help if decent actresses were chosen, but maybe there really *aren't* good people? And the chicks just aren't worth searching the globe for like with Supes. *shrugs*
no subject
Well, I think it is definitely worth it to spend time finding the best actress and writing the chicks the way they should be so they can be strong and not FUCKING irritating. We can create drama and create conflict between characters without making the woman a stupid bitch. Lana doesn't have to be the brat princess in order for there to be problems with her relationship with Clark. Lois doesn't HAVE to be a dumb bint.
But that's sadly not a problem the film industry will be fixing on its own. I value my female characters, but a lot of people just want a great set of tits, so I'm often out of luck when it comes to movies. XPXP
no subject
no subject
Girls need superheros, too.
Damn straight!
no subject