quiet_tiger: (DC is Crack)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2006-07-01 12:50 pm

Superman Returns

Like I said last night, there were a number of good things about Superman Returns.

There were also a number of ridiculous/irritating things.


I thought Brandon Routh was great. He looks the part, though at times it was distractingly obvious that he was wearing blue contact lenses. He did cute and dorky well, he did strong well, he was hurt well. And the brief topless scene, even though it was in a hospital, was much appreciated. The *only* thing I would have wanted him to do if I were directing would be to make him bleach his teeth whiter. Overall, Brandon was pretty awesome.

Kevin Spacey was wonderful. I was wary of seeing the movie because I didn't want to compare him to MR the whole time (or the other characters to Smallville), but I had forgotten that AlMiles have woobified Lex to the point where comics fans wouldn't even recognize him. Kevin Spacey played the egomaniacal criminal mastermind of the comics. And he played him well. Very overdramatic and amusing. And as far as nefarious schemes go, creating land with Supes' crystals was a really good one. I was a bit concerned why he had to "steal" the money from the old widow; did he lose all of it in the court battle? It wasn't very clear. It was also a little weird to me that there was no mention of LexCorp. There really wasn't much mention at all of life before Superman left.

Kate Botsworth was fine as Lois. She seemed maybe a little young, but I guess everyone was young here. I just despise Lois with a fiery passion. It's like she lacks common sense and it drives me crazy. Lois on Smallville is a twit, but I don't feel outright hatred for her. And why did she have a kid in this? I was impressed she was with James Marsden. He is so cute. It's nice to see him in something that isn't a horror movie. But seriously, why give Lois a kid? And why the hints that it's Clark's kid? (more on that later) It was quite strange to me the number of times she risked the kid's safety: she takes him to the mysterious address where the power outtage originated? She then, rather than make sure he's safe on dry land, makes Marsden turn the sea plane around to rescue Superman? Okay, yes, he's Superman. And there's obviously some sort of sexual/romantic tension between them, but still. Her kid should come first.

Jimmy Olsen was even more dorky than I think was necessary, but I think he worked well, too.

Overall, the special effects were good. The opening title sequence is freaking amazing, made even double amazing with John Williams's theme. The friend I saw it with and I were humming it the whole rest of the night. The flying scenes, particularly the one with Lois, was still kinda cheesy, though. Not sure whose fault that was. The other ones were good. And oh, man, when Supes falls from space... so sad. Tragic. Ouch.

I wish that more time would have been spent on where Superman went, to be gone for five years. Yes, he went to Krypton. But, what did he see? I guess I wanted more of that. I'm used to getting into Clark's screwed up psyche, I guess. As in so many superhero movies, the actual plot, Superman and the villian Luthor, seemed to take backstage while crap, in this case Lois and her screwed up family, seemed to take center stage. I wanted more with Lex and Superman. They were barely even onscreen together, which seemed sort of weird. Weren't they only on screen togethere when Lex and his lackeys beat the shit out of Clark? Supes defeating Luthor just seemed to all happen on some B level of consciousness in the movie, not A level. It was sort of anti-climactic. Though man, I did hurt for Clark when he was brought into the hospital. I knew he was going to get better, but, you know, you still partially think maybe he won't. Spend more time on the aftermath of Lex's nefarious scheme, life looked pretty back to normal right away, which seemed weird.

The entire story with Lois irritated me. There was hinting at the back story between her and Superman, but it wasn't explained well enough except through the hinting that Lois's little boy is his. First of all, the fuck?! That little boy is fragile, even Lois describes him as so. If he's half Kryptonian, shouldn't he be strong? At least not be allergic to everything? And... apparently two different species can mate. Okay. Whatever. The physics in this film were attrocious, so I guess I can't ask for more from the biology. And don't spend so much damn time on this storyline! It's boring (which I'm certain I'm in the minority for thinking), and takes away too much from what I assumed was the actual plot of the movie. I just hate Lois! Clark would have so much free time if he didn't have to waste all of it saving her from her own stupidity! Back to the kid thing, it was just cheesy, overdone, whatever you want to use, especially because they just left it hanging! And damn, that is a really creepy scene when Superman breaks into the kid's room and watches him sleep. Take away the dialogue, and it's wickedly inappropriate. The cap of the kid sleeping, shot over Supes's shoulder...

Okay. The very first huge action sequence had me and my friend giggling hysterically. Because it was SO RIDICULOUS. You know the one, with the shuttle on top of the airplane? And then all hell breaks loose? First of all, why was Lois the only person not wearing her seatbelt (other than the woman giving the presentation, of course)? Secondly, HOW DID ANYONE SURVIVE THE FALL? Bad enough no one seemed to break even their nose in the turblence, but they fall miles and miles in the sky, and no one even has a cut! Yes, it's a superhero movie. But I think a *teeny* bit of realism would have helped. The second after the plane went weightless, everyone should have vomited, and they should have all broken bones, if not died, in the near-crash. Lois, at the very least, should have gotten injured. Was her *hair* even mussed? And Clark catches the plane, on the *baseball* field... and everyone cheers for him, and his picture is on the big screen... SO. CHEESY. It took me some time to stop giggling. It was all pretty cool, just totally ridiculous. (it does remind me of one of the early issues of The Outsiders: Grace catches a jet, and someone asks her how she feels or if she's okay, and she bitterly replies, "I just caught a freakin' jet." I wish I had my book so I could quote that better.)

Superman's cape seems to have a mind of its own, fluttering in ways that it didn't really seem like it should be. Particularly in space, where there isn't exactly wind to make it flutter. And I don't care if he has super hearing, there is no medium for sound to travel in space, thus he cannot listen to people on Earth from space. Argue that he was still in the uppermost region of the atmosphere if you want, I'm still going to call it a flub. He would have had to throw Lex's chunk of land really freaking hard to get it to pull away from Earth's atmosphere and not have it pulled back by gravity or have it in orbit forever. Even though he was exhausted from the Kryptonite and such, I suppose I'll give him the benefit of the doubt.

Another thing I thought was weird... Superman was particularly dorky. I thought Clark was the dork, while Supes was all brave and confident, or at least acted so to make a wider gap between Clark and Supes. Not a very convincing disguise. Though even though Lois saw Supes wet and confused and hurt, his hair flopping in his face, she didn't recognize him?! Or at least didn't indicate she did?! And yet her fiance sees Clark for what, twenty minutes? And he points out the resemblance. Come *on*. It's so infuriating.

The new costume was interesting. I found myself missing the bright red, though the costume's material was pretty neat. I liked his boots, too.

I thought Metropolis was in Kansas... why was it on the east coast?

So, basically, some of the movie was pretty cool. Some of it was even great. Some of it sucked. But I'm glad I saw it. Last night I was in real need of some eye candy and mindless entertainment, and I definitely got it with this. Though I may be thinking too much of it through now...

ETA: So, if this is supposed to theoretically be a sequel to Superman II, it's really helpful that I haven't seen that movie in at least ten years... All I remember from it is the other Kryptonians. I don't care if this is supposed to be a direct sequel, the original came out twenty years ago. It needs more back story so idle viewers aren't as confused as I am. Hell, a minute or two of flashbacks interspersed would have done the job nicely. (contrasting my feelings for Batman Begins, which has just *too* much explication for past events and thus drags a little).

[identity profile] grimms-creed.livejournal.com 2006-07-01 09:37 pm (UTC)(link)
I always assumed Metropolis was on the east coast. But then I'm not a big comics fan. (Yes, I read the spoilers despite not having seen the movie. I will burn in hell).

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-07-01 09:48 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm fairly certain Metropolis is supposed to be in Kansas, since it's not supposed to be too far from Smallville. It is in Smallville, not that that show should be used for any real knowledge of Superman.

[identity profile] grimms-creed.livejournal.com 2006-07-01 09:53 pm (UTC)(link)
Like, I said, I have no real basis for my assumption ;-) Of course, I think it is based on Lois and Clark (wherein I'm pretty sure his parents had to take a plane to visit), and other show that makes a very poor source of information.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-07-01 10:22 pm (UTC)(link)
Eh, it's tough to make sense sometimes of what's real in a movie, and it doesn't much matter since stuff in the comics is rewritten all the freaking time so it's extra confusing. I've never seen Lois and Clark, but I've heard it's good.
ilyena_sylph: picture of Labyrinth!faerie with 'careful, i bite' as text (Default)

[personal profile] ilyena_sylph 2006-07-01 10:04 pm (UTC)(link)
Smallville's Metropolis is near/in Kansas. Since Lex can make the drive fairly easily, and Martha was willing to go there to work for Lionel way the heck back in S2.

However, the DC comics universe Metropolis is very definitely on the east coast, though. In Delaware, actually, somewhat south of Gotham. http://www.karridian.net/dcusa_ne.html

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-07-01 10:33 pm (UTC)(link)
Heck, based on timeframes in season 5 of Smallville, Metropolis appears to be across the street from Smallville.

This article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metropolis_(Superman)) says the location of Metropolis has changed over the years, and one incarnation has Metropolis in Kansas, which must be why I thought that, combined with the tv show. I think when I was little I used to think Metropolis was just New York, which is also a popular opinion, but placing characters actually in New York messes that up.

Overall I guess it doesn't really matter, so long as Supes saves the day and can make it home to the farm.
ilyena_sylph: picture of Labyrinth!faerie with 'careful, i bite' as text (Default)

[personal profile] ilyena_sylph 2006-07-02 12:49 am (UTC)(link)
*chuckle* True enough.

Ahh, wikipedia. Font of all knowledge. Have you seen the entry for Gotham and all the different places it's been over the years?

When I was little, I thought Metropolis was NYC too. I think at one point it may have been envisioned to be, but... yeah. Then they introduced NYC-proper to the mix and that rather messes things up.

True enough. And Supes can get anywhere in about 15 seconds, so it really doesn't matter.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-07-02 01:18 am (UTC)(link)
I'm actually not a fan of wikipedia, but it is a good source for quick information.

I can see Gotham being moved everywhere as needed. It might be nice if comics writers could maybe just decide on one location for the city in question. But then they might have to decide on ages and facts and stories of origin. *That* wouldn't be good. /sarcasm.

I like that New York exists (and San Fran, and whatever real cities). It adds some realism into the comics.

I bet Clark flies faster when there's pie involved.
ilyena_sylph: picture of Labyrinth!faerie with 'careful, i bite' as text (Default)

[personal profile] ilyena_sylph 2006-07-02 01:35 am (UTC)(link)
Sorry, forgot to tag the end of that sentance with /sarcasm. Good for the quick stuff, but not precisely an academic resource, is very true.

Wouldn't it be nice? I think they've finally decided that for the comicverse it's in New Jersey. (...Now watch them move it back to Maine.)

*nodnod* I like the real cities.

...I would not bet against you. Not in the slightest. Especially not if it's his mum's.

[identity profile] menocchio.livejournal.com 2006-07-02 03:01 pm (UTC)(link)
Metropolis has been a lot of places over the years. New York by day (whereas Gotham is Ny by night, note that "Gotham" and "Metropolis" are both nicknames for NYC), Chicago, and American Montreal. But recently it's consistently been on the east coast, not too terribly far from Gotham, although they're loathe to say exactly where.

In the earlier comics (which is what the movie Lex is based on)Lex wasn't rich. He just knew how to make killer robots and kryptonite deathtraps on the cheap. In more recent comics, he's rich (until very recently where he's blown most of his wealth on court battles) but he's totally a self made-man, unlike in Smallville. He had to work hard to get his power, unlike Superman, which is part of the reason why he despises him so much.

I think it's great that Superman is kind of a square. It's not that he's a dork, it's that he's unbelievably wholesome and kind and polite. The difference between him and Clark is that he sells it with such confidence.

I agree that they botched Lois, but I didn't think she was dumb. She just didn't do anything. Lois is a strong character, smart (much smarter than Clark in the comics), brave and kind. Yeah, she's always getting in trouble, but she's always gutsy enough to poke around for the story when she knows there's a supervillain around. This Lois blundered into danger by mistake. Not cool.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-07-02 05:39 pm (UTC)(link)
Don't *other* cities need saving? Why is New York getting all the bad rap? Doesn't, like, St. Louis need help or something?

I just think it's weird to have all these huge and not-quite-as-huge cities so near to each other. (and I think it's silly to put Metropolis in Delaware of all places as it has been- the population of the state probably couldn't fill Metropolis.)

I guess it's just weird for me to see Lex all poor and robbing rich old ladies with creepy little dogs. I want him rich and powerful and President of the United States. But, heck, crazy dude with crazy schemes works, too. I liked the portrayal in the movie, I was just a little confused.

It's just that Superman was doing the same little dorky mannerisms that Clark did, so I can't imagine people not recognizing that they're one in the same. Forget the glasses! They don't do that much! Unless that spit-curl has magical powers of its own...

I just in general think Lois is dumb. She's smart, don't get me wrong, but she just does stupid things. And I can't believe she brought her kid with her to the mansion! Who does that?!