House
Hmmm. It's always interesting to see how tv dramas handle religious themes on non-religious shows. This episode appeared to be a big poke at Catholicism. Or Catholics. Is there a difference?
Fun dialogue:
House: "What the hell are those?"
Cameron: "Candy Canes."
House: "Candy canes? Are you mocking me?"
House: "All the drugs I prescribe are addictive and dangerous. Only difference is this one's legal." Zing.
House's line that nuns have nice breasts. So horribly inappropriate.
Cuddy: "What is this, hemlock?" after House threw the tea bag at her.
And while not funny, the nun's line about taking "every birth control known to man" was intriguing. I mean, the pill, an IUD, a diphragm, condoms, spermicides, geez, I'm drawing a blank on any others; it's quite a lot to do, unless she was using hyperbole by implying all those different methods. Except of course the one that would work: ABSTINENCE. Though abstinence isn't considered a reliable form of birth control to some people. And this is going to be horrible, but, take into consideration Mary. Sorry to all you religious types out there.
Slashtacular moments:
Wilson, during their discussion on people: "Most people don't like to listen."
House: "So what's wrong with you?"
He has the hots for you, dude, unless you're already together. Then it's just that he cares for you more than he cares for anyone else. Maybe even himself.
Wilson: "You want to come over for Christmas dinner?"
House: "You're Jewish."
Wilson: "Hannukah dinner. Whatever."
Aww. Forget the family plans, invite your love interest/lover over for dinner. Or just have Chinese food with him, depicted in a wonderfully slashy montage that probably wasn't supposed to be viewed the way it was. They're just so cute together.
The anti-religious dialogue, if that's what to call it, was amusing as well, but probably not to religious people. Particularly Catholics, since they were the target tonight. Unlike the episode with the health nuts suspected of starving their baby. That was anti-health nut night, and health nuts are arguably following a religion (for my anthropology in religion class I wrote a paper about veganism).
Nun: "Sister Augustine believes in things that aren't real."
House: "I thought that was a job requirement for you people."
Did he actually use the word "Catholympics?" 'Cause that's just horrible, though I laughed.
House: "She has God inside her. It'd be easier to deal with a tumor."
I could comment on this line in great detail, but I'm not going to.
It's very interesting that the guy you're supposed to love, or supposed to hate, or anyway the guy you're supposed to identify with, is an atheist, or at least an extreme agnostic. I'm sticking with atheist though. Makes me like the show that much more. And in one episode House makes a snotty remark to Cameron when she makes a comment about her own atheism, so it's all equal opportunity offense to be taken.
And religious people generally confuse me. One girl at school who I really liked and she was really friendly was really Christian. In the Christian Fellowship, crosses all over her room, dropped references to God all the time, couldn't comprehend the concept of geological mountain range creation due to the time it takes, the works. And yet, we got into a conversation at dinner once in which she outlined her parents' relationship problems, including informing me that her parents hadn't had sex, or had stopped having sex, or something. Which of course I didn't need to know at all, and grossed me out just because it was the thought of someone's parents, and it's not as if this girl and I were very close, just casual acquaintances. And I think what weirded me out the most was not that she was talking about her parents' sex lives, but that she used the expression "having relations" instead of "sex." Which has nothing to do with anything at all, especially not House.
If you are a House fan, and if you drink (or not), do yourself a favor and check out the House Drinking Game over at TWoP.
And this has not a single, tiny, infinestimal bit to do with House, but I stumbled across it tonight. Spike collage. Isn't he just dreamy? *coughs and straightens tie* I mean hot. Lickable. Gorgeous. Sexy. Attractive. Shut up.
Hmm. The "thoughtful" mood dragon just looks confused, like he's drawing a blank.
