quiet_tiger: (Roy/Dick)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2006-02-01 10:46 pm

Fic: Deal

Title: Deal
Pairing: Roy/Dick
Rating: PG-13 for language and suggestive dialogue
Disclaimer: So totally not mine.

Summary: Roy and Dick talk about their relationship.

Note: Feedback appreciated, as I'm just starting to get into Roy, and his relationship with Dick. Based on Outsiders. Also, are there any Outsiders communities?


~*~*~

“We need to talk about our relationship.” Roy watched as Dick fixed all the clasps on his costume.

“We don’t have a relationship. We have sex.” Dick frowned.

“Exactly. I think it should be more.” Roy tugged up his own pants.

“You don’t like what we do?”

Roy sighed. This was going exactly as well as he figured it would. “I love what we do. But it still feels empty.”

Dick pulled on one of his gauntlets. “So what, you want flowers or something?”

“No. But I think we’re both too old to just fuck whenever the mood strikes us.”

“You’re the one who wants to use the Pequod whenever we find two minutes by ourselves.”

“I like the Pequod.”

“But we each have a room here. With beds and things.”

“We could go out. Dinner, a movie…”

Dick cocked his head downwards. “I don’t think we should date.”

Roy cinched his belt. “Why?”

“We fight constantly. Each week is a contest to see who kicks the shit out of the other first, verbally or physically, either intentionally or consciously or not.”

“Well, if you weren’t so stubborn and intent on being perfect all the time…”

“You of all people should know I don’t think I’m perfect.” Dick frowned slightly, and Roy knew the action hid a much more dramatic frown-like gesture. Dick and emotional health didn't really walk hand in hand.

“Hey.” Roy crossed the small space between them. “I don’t know what Batman did to screw you up this much, but when I figure it out I’m gonna kick his ass.”

“Then we can go lay the smackdown on Ollie.”

“Sounds like a good first date.” Roy smirked that smile that made Dick stare at his mouth.

“I think. That I may take you up on that.”

“It’ll be way romantic. Getting our asses handed to us by Batman, then licking our wounds by handing Ollie his.”

“Hey. Only I can hand you your ass.” Dick smirked his own beautiful little smirk.

“You’re the only one allowed to touch it.”

"And you mine."

“Watch it. I may start to think you want to be monogamous.” Roy tried not to feel hope.

Dick stared at him. “I do want to be monogamous. I just don’t think we should date.”

“So we should just fuck? No emotional attachment? I don’t think I like that.”

“It’s a step in the right direction, right?”

Sort of. “If you want to call it that.”

“Tell you what. We work on being monogamous, and if we can do it for a month, then I’ll take you out to dinner.”

“I think I can handle that.”

“I dunno. Women throw themselves at you.”

“Yeah, and half the time they’re trying to beat the shit out of me.”

“True. Same here.”

“All right. One month?”

“Yeah Shake on it?”

Roy reached out a hand, and Dick took it.

Their relationship was damn screwed up, but Roy was glad they had it. It was a nice level of stability. He and Dick just worked that way.

~*~*~

[identity profile] ladykoori.livejournal.com 2006-02-02 05:42 am (UTC)(link)
I'm laughing and going aw at the same time.

So very cute. I particularily liked the bit about the first date.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-02 07:58 pm (UTC)(link)
I love Roy and Dick, because while they're so cute and Meant2B, they have that whole angst/pain thing going on.

Thanks for the comments, glad you liked it!
ext_11844: (Roy Harper)

[identity profile] amarin-rose.livejournal.com 2006-02-02 09:58 am (UTC)(link)
*snerk* Ah, the boys are indeed screwed up -- but they're cute like that! :) And at least they realize it, unlike some people...

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-02 08:09 pm (UTC)(link)
From what I can gather, they just have this weird dynamic going on (erotic Butch and Sundance, if you will). Their mentors are just. Well, look at them. *points to Batman and Green Arrow* It's amazing they can function in society as well as they do.

Thanks for the comments!

[identity profile] fantasyenabler.livejournal.com 2006-02-02 07:44 pm (UTC)(link)
“It’ll be way romantic. Getting our asses handed to us by Batman, then licking our wounds by handing Ollie his.”

Loved this. Underscores exactly why they understand each other so much better than anyone else would.

Only complaint: Too short! I wanted to see that date! :)

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-02 08:14 pm (UTC)(link)
They have such similar kinda backgrounds, and worked together for so long... They might as well just tie the knot or something. Really, who could put up with either of them for any realy length of time?! But they're all cute and angsty...

"Only complaint: Too short! I wanted to see that date!"

Hehe! I don't have anything else with them planned, but I'm sure something will pop into my head.

Thanks for the comments!

[identity profile] dimitri-aidan.livejournal.com 2006-02-03 02:41 am (UTC)(link)
While I'm not totally sure how I feel about Roy/Dick (perhaps because its always a contest to see who can kick the others ass first, as was mentioned) but this story was a step in the direction of converting me. I liked it, short and sweet and so...true, in a way. They are way screwed up, as anyone can see just by looking at how they exist outside of 'normal society', and its because of Bats and Arrow, which just proves that money and martial arts skill do not a great role model make.


All in all, I liked it. Makes me like Dick more than the comics have as of late, which is a feat in and of itself. I'd like to see more, please.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-03 08:23 pm (UTC)(link)
It just amazes me that these two guys who are so grown up in so many ways just have no chance of leading normal, healthy lives. Bats and GA really screwed them up, not intentionally, but things happen.

From what I can tell about Dick in the comics, he's become kind of a jerk, which is quite sad. All the more reason to write him as a bit more carefree and not spooky.

Thank you for the comments! I'll see what I can do about writing more. Anything to bring more people into the Roy/Dick light. :)

yum

(Anonymous) 2006-02-04 05:39 am (UTC)(link)
Yup, yum is just the word. Please continue writing. I don't know of any Outsiders groups but check out: arsenalnightwingslash at Yahoo Groups and livejournal.com/community/roydick_slash/

Re: yum

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-04 05:50 pm (UTC)(link)
Heh, thanks! I have recently joined the Yahoo group, but I haven't come across that community, so thanks a bunch!

:)

[identity profile] ever-faithful.livejournal.com 2006-02-05 05:57 am (UTC)(link)
I love Dick and Roy. I think this fic is great, it really showed off their personalities.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-05 07:50 pm (UTC)(link)
Dick and Roy are just totally MFEO. I'm glad that this works, I really want to get a handle on them. Thanks!

[identity profile] stranj100.livejournal.com 2006-02-05 06:23 am (UTC)(link)
Great fic. You have to do a follow-up. Thinking about them trying to get through a normal date is funny.

Raven_Kerry, who runs the community, also runs the slash group.
here's the address.

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/arsenalnightwing_slash/

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-05 07:52 pm (UTC)(link)
Heh, I have no sequel in mind right now, but I'm sure something will pop into my head at some inopportune time.

And yep, I have recently joined the group.

Thanks!

[identity profile] raven-kerry.livejournal.com 2006-02-19 10:48 pm (UTC)(link)
heh, cute ^^
thanks for posting - I really enjoyed it ^^

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-20 12:32 am (UTC)(link)
Thanks! Roy and Dick are just Meant2B, they just have those women in their way. But as long as we can play, it's all good.

[identity profile] raven-kerry.livejournal.com 2006-02-20 06:30 am (UTC)(link)
heh, that is so totally true ^^ of course, at the moment there's only Barbara and Starfire in the way...maybe Cheshire too...so, if we could get them out of the picture, then we'd be well off ^^

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-20 07:14 pm (UTC)(link)
Ick! *spits on Babs and Kory* Has Dick had any good relationships with women?? He needs to realize that the boys are where it's at. Or something. And I don't know anything about Cheshire other than she's a bad person and Lian's mom, but I think it's safe to say I like her out of the picture so Roy can be with other people. Like Dick. Roy and Dick fight so much, their make-up sex must be fabulous. Or so I want to believe.

Anyway.

Heh.

[identity profile] raven-kerry.livejournal.com 2006-02-20 10:14 pm (UTC)(link)
lol, well, I'd have to say that you're right there - I totally agree that Roy and Dick should get it on. ^^
We have to remember canon though. Even though we get loads of hints and everything, we have to remember that it isn't official and sadly never will be.
Cheshire - she still loves Lian. She believes that Roy betrayed her, which, in a way, he did. She could have escaped prison if he had let her - but his duty overweighed his personal feelings. But even in The Titans arc he still had feelings for her. And she'd do anything to protect their daughter, as he would. So they've got Lian to tie them together - something that even Dick wouldn't be able to compete against. Roy would chose Lian over Dick anyday - he would chose Lian over himself. And for Roy - we can't forget Donna either. He still loves her...it's obvious.
Dick is still hung up over Barbara - she was his first love. As I understand he swore that he would marry her when he was a kid and she was his babysitter. ^^ Or was that an older arc? But she was too caught up in the loss of her legs - and the fact that Dick had what she could never have again and was a constant reminder of what she had lost. Besides that, there's also the problem that random girls would come up to him and kiss him (like Huntress and Tarantula). And Kory...if Raven hadn't stopped them he would have married her. And it's because of that interruption - and the fact that Mirage tricked him into sleeping with her while pretending to be Starfire - that caused that breakup. You can't really blame either of those girls for breaking up with him. In an alternate verse Dick and Kory had a daughter together. To me at least, he seemed like the type that would want to have kids someday and teach them how to fly like his parents taught him. So - maybe if he did that, then he and Roy would be a more realistic pair. -.- and I can't believe I'm actually arguing against my favourite pairing...
if you ask me - then you shouldn't just have sex to make up - you should have it because both parties are in love. Of course, I've got an old fashioned view on that. ^^' I think that it's more likely that Dick would be brooding alone and Roy would come to appoligize - but then would get so annoyed with Dick acting like Batman that they would just end up fighting again. And another thing - Dick would never do a casual fuck. In the Nightwing/Huntress crossover, he clearly stated that he doesn't do one-night-stands. He goes for a long-term relationship. ^^ A casual fuck is more Roy's forté - as shown by Grace and all the girls he's slept with.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-02-20 11:24 pm (UTC)(link)
Thnx for the info, I'm familiar with a lot of it, but not particular details. Recent events in Nightwing make a little more sense now, too, not that I want them. The way Roy and Dick fight so much yet clearly care about each other is what made me write Deal (and I wanted to explore the pairing in my own way). And Dick may have said he doesn't sleep around, but he did sleep with Kory when he was emotionally needy after events in Outiders. I know that no matter what Grace hints at, Dick and Roy are never gonna be canon, but it is fun to make them together.

[identity profile] raven-kerry.livejournal.com 2006-02-21 06:28 am (UTC)(link)
I'd say that Starfire is a different case, seeing as she and Dick were dating once. In The Titans when she left (issue 19 I think), it was made clear that the two of them still had feelings for each other. They tell the other that they love each other just when the conversation is interrupted by static. ^^'
well, I'm glad that I could shed a little more light on the subject. ^^ I'm wierd in the way that I can remember all these details about Dick and Roy - not to mention lots of other characters - when I've only read the comics in which it happens once.
I find it good that you decided to explore the pairing. However, in fanfiction one has to remember all sorts of details about canon and not go against them. That's one of the reasons I like writting AU fics.