quiet_tiger: (WTF?)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2011-12-24 02:15 pm

Comment Page WTFuckery

I wasn't going to join the ranks of "WTF LJ why did you fuck with the comment pages?!?!"

But that may be because I haven't commented on much since they changed it and it hasn't been a problem.

But OMG replying to stuff over at batfic_contest right now and WTF is with the order of the userpics?

Did anyone really have trouble picking the appropriate picture from a text dropdown list? I mean, I have 45 icons or so and I know what they all are by their name because I, you know, made them and uploaded them myself.

I guess now the pics are in order of upload? But I know what they look like, I don't need pictures, and now I have to scroll through a list of pictures to find the one I want? Goddamn stupid shit to change.

Seriously, I keep using my Batman icon, because it's batfic_contest and a story about Bruce and it makes sense to use that icon... I shouldn't have click down or scroll considering B is the second letter of the alphabet.

I guess it's nice to *see* my icons, as I don't really sit and marvel at them much, but... No. This is stupid.

STOP "FIXING" THINGS THAT WEREN'T BROKEN.

At least on posts the list is still alphabetical. I find myself scrolling down to this particular icon more often than I should.

ETA: I was just in somebody's personal journal and it was the normal alphabetized dropdown. Checked out a different community and it was the picture list. Interesting.

[identity profile] jlvsclrk.livejournal.com 2011-12-24 08:09 pm (UTC)(link)
You 'only' notice the change in the comments section if the livejournal uses the default style (or customized based on the default style). That's why its hitting the comm's so badly, since most of them stayed with the default style for simplicity sake.

I absolutely agree about the icon selection. It was a nice OPTION before, but being forced to see the images to make a selection is an annoying waste of time. Give me the drop down list anyday.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2011-12-24 09:30 pm (UTC)(link)
I figured it was something like that, just the "Regular" style stuff versus the more personal styles people choose to get away from the default. It's just so much easier to leave comms simple versus trying to "personalize" the comm.

I don't want to see the images. I know what they look like. And in order of when they were uploaded? 'Cause that's totally the most relevant order; I always use the same six icons I started with. I do use some of them more often than the more recent ones but that's just because the more recent ones are more specific. But that doesn't mean I should have to hunt for icons because I'm not exactly sure in what order they were uploaded.

I was going to say in my post that why not make a cleaner dropdown lists for tags, where you can actually read them all, but clearly screwing with the perfectly fine comment pages was more important to someone.

I wish I *got* Livejournal.

FAIL should be under F, not somewhere in the middle.