quiet_tiger (
quiet_tiger) wrote2011-04-24 01:42 pm
SV 10.17- Kent
The beginning of the end.
Or was that like five years ago...
Another visit with Clark Luthor and the Mirror Box. I remember the first episode venturing there blew me away, but this one seemed a little more same old, same old. As creepy as it is seeing Clark hitting on Tess, as miserable as that alternate world is, as touching as it was seeing Clark interacting with Jonathan again, I’m just not sure what this episode added. Actually I’m not really sure what even happened in the episode.
Was it all really just a way to get Clark to move on from the farm? Home isn’t a place, it’s people? But we know that in the comics Conner lives on the farm with the Kents. Of course Martha isn’t a Senator and I believe Jonathan is still alive depending on what books you’re in, but still.
Though it is quite amusing that Martha inadvertently points out that Lois and Clark should be living in Metropolis—haven’t we all been saying that for years? Their two hour one-way driving trip is stupid. Then again how much does it really matter for Clark and his superspeed?
I feel like the stakes weren’t high enough in the episode. There’s only a handful of episodes left and they still have to face the Darkness, so we know the Clarks aren’t going to be switched for long. We can guess they aren’t going to kill off Tess. Emil has now become another dues ex machina to fix the shattered Mirror Box by…shining light on it?
I guess the off-hand comments about gold Kryptonite were interesting, but again it’s so late that it’s probably going to come up in some obvious way.
And is Clark Luthor going to be his world’s Superman? He’s got a lot of ground to cover, and everyone still knows how to kill him.
I dunno. While the Luthor world is really interesting and it was cool seeing more of it, I think more could have been done with it.
It’s also depressing seeing them just destroy sets—the Mansion, the LuthorCorp office, they’re selling the farm... I dunno. I guess it’s less heavy-handed than the Buffy or Angel finales, but you know what I mean.
I think I just wanted more from the first ep back from hiatus before the series finale. I want to be freaking wowed at the end, and I’m kind of not expecting to be at this rate. Now I’m kind of wondering if they know they have to actually end it all, not finish on a cliffhanger like the regular season finales?
Especially with the next episode being about Booster Gold of all people… Really? Booster? He’s funny I guess and I love the JLU episode “The Greatest Story Never Told,” but… He’s Booster. Why not Plastic Man or Green Lantern or somebody slightly more relevant. Wonder Woman? More conflicts with the Warner Brothers movie studio?
Or was that like five years ago...
Another visit with Clark Luthor and the Mirror Box. I remember the first episode venturing there blew me away, but this one seemed a little more same old, same old. As creepy as it is seeing Clark hitting on Tess, as miserable as that alternate world is, as touching as it was seeing Clark interacting with Jonathan again, I’m just not sure what this episode added. Actually I’m not really sure what even happened in the episode.
Was it all really just a way to get Clark to move on from the farm? Home isn’t a place, it’s people? But we know that in the comics Conner lives on the farm with the Kents. Of course Martha isn’t a Senator and I believe Jonathan is still alive depending on what books you’re in, but still.
Though it is quite amusing that Martha inadvertently points out that Lois and Clark should be living in Metropolis—haven’t we all been saying that for years? Their two hour one-way driving trip is stupid. Then again how much does it really matter for Clark and his superspeed?
I feel like the stakes weren’t high enough in the episode. There’s only a handful of episodes left and they still have to face the Darkness, so we know the Clarks aren’t going to be switched for long. We can guess they aren’t going to kill off Tess. Emil has now become another dues ex machina to fix the shattered Mirror Box by…shining light on it?
I guess the off-hand comments about gold Kryptonite were interesting, but again it’s so late that it’s probably going to come up in some obvious way.
And is Clark Luthor going to be his world’s Superman? He’s got a lot of ground to cover, and everyone still knows how to kill him.
I dunno. While the Luthor world is really interesting and it was cool seeing more of it, I think more could have been done with it.
It’s also depressing seeing them just destroy sets—the Mansion, the LuthorCorp office, they’re selling the farm... I dunno. I guess it’s less heavy-handed than the Buffy or Angel finales, but you know what I mean.
I think I just wanted more from the first ep back from hiatus before the series finale. I want to be freaking wowed at the end, and I’m kind of not expecting to be at this rate. Now I’m kind of wondering if they know they have to actually end it all, not finish on a cliffhanger like the regular season finales?
Especially with the next episode being about Booster Gold of all people… Really? Booster? He’s funny I guess and I love the JLU episode “The Greatest Story Never Told,” but… He’s Booster. Why not Plastic Man or Green Lantern or somebody slightly more relevant. Wonder Woman? More conflicts with the Warner Brothers movie studio?

no subject
This is a show that is so long overdue for the end, it like a tired bomb ticking down. You keep waiting for the boom but it just keeps ticking slowly to the inevitable finish. I have been seeing promos advertising the 2 hour finale and I am going to try to look at it, if only to say thank you and goodbye.
no subject
The ending will certainly be something, but it remains to be seen what exactly that something will be.
no subject
As creepy as it is seeing Clark hitting on Tess, as miserable as that alternate world is, as touching as it was seeing Clark interacting with Jonathan again, I’m just not sure what this episode added.
I think, like you said, it was just to get Clark to move on. Though I don't like the idea that they're selling the farm. They can keep it and still move to Metropolis! It makes me sad. And I'm glad I'm not the only one who thought Clark hitting on Tess was creepy. I'm sorry, the fact that he calls her "sis" and then macks on her just squicks me out to no end.
And is Clark Luthor going to be his world’s Superman? He’s got a lot of ground to cover, and everyone still knows how to kill him.
IDK. I wish that Clark had at least mentioned what happened to Clark Luthor, while talking to Lois or something.
I actually enjoyed Booster so I'm looking forward to what you think. As for Wonder Woman, yeah, I don't think they're allowed to have her.
no subject
Right? Like, it was really awesome initially, but isn't there more relevant stuff they could be doing?
Or what about this: forget the stupid VRA stuff, introduce the Luthor AU early on in the season, and have that be more of a focus. Maybe it would be too much of a good thing, but then they could be clever about it and stretch it out/build it up more, have more of Lionel influencing Alexander/Conner, have more of Lionel in general, because it really has been fantastic having the MB back!
But you're totally right, this time Clark Luthor did seem redeemable, where he didn't in the first ep. But yeah, considering the position CL was in at the end of the other ep, what the heck happened to bring around the events we saw here?
I don't understand selling the farm. Like, keeping it a working farm is pretty stupid considering their lives, but sell the cows, even sell off the land or rent it or whatever, and keep the house. Wasn't it Hiram's house, so it's part of the Kent legacy? Which is why Jonathan didn't want to lose it to Lex in the first couple seasons? Maybe I'm getting my facts confused, but I don't think it's just a farm, and Clark and Lois shouldn't see it as just a house. Not to mention I like in futurefics that Clark can always go home to the farmhouse when he needs a break from Supermanning or Lex or Bruce or whatever. :)
The Luthors just lend themselves to incest, somehow. Like CL and Tess being together in their world was gross yet somehow fitting in a way. Sticking it to Lionel, I guess. Though it reminds me a little of Transference when Lionel is in Clark's body and hits on Martha, smells her hair. Like, you know it's not really Clark, but yet it is his body.
Yeah, I was exhausted last weekend and work exploded this week so I didn't have any time to watch anything. By Friday I was two Smallvilles, a Vampire Diaries, and a Chuck behind. Now I'm just one SV and TVD behind. I hope to get to Booster by midweek!
no subject
Honestly, while I enjoyed having Lionel back in 'Luthor', I was a bit disappointed with his arc in the "real world". I enjoyed Tess getting one up on him and her working with Lois to bring him down but other than that, I felt his being there did nothing for the overall plot. Just my opinion though.
The VRA stuff was a bit boring at times but I felt that it was a good set up for Clark to reveal himself as Superman, showcasing a world that needed a hero to stand out in the light. I hope that makes sense.
But you're totally right, this time Clark Luthor did seem redeemable, where he didn't in the first ep. But yeah, considering the position CL was in at the end of the other ep, what the heck happened to bring around the events we saw here?
Moments like when he looked so shocked to see the mansion showed us a side of him that wasn't a murdering bastard, at least for me. And yeah, I don't know! I know Justin wasn't there so they conveniently killed Ollie in the AU world but I would think that since he was the one who "outed" Clark Luthor as Ultraman, he would've protected himself better. *sighs* I keep forgetting that no matter how good the show can get, you still shouldn't overthink it or will just end up confused.
Maybe I'm getting my facts confused, but I don't think it's just a farm, and Clark and Lois shouldn't see it as just a house. Not to mention I like in futurefics that Clark can always go home to the farmhouse when he needs a break from Supermanning or Lex or Bruce or whatever. :)
Agreed. I get that Clark doesn't want to cling on too much but he doesn't have to let go completely! I do like that he has a home to go back to and Martha can retire there too, when she gets sick of DC. I kind of like the idea of Clark and Lois visiting with their children, etc (yeah, I know DC won't let them have kids but I like to pretend). :\ Besides, it's there in every other 'verse (as far as I know) so why do they have to get rid of it here?
Wow, well, I hope you had a relaxing weekend!
no subject
I thought the characters all acted really stupid during the VRA thing, particularly Oliver. And it's like they're avoiding saying "Superman" with the whole "Blur" thing.
I wish it would feel less forced when Justin is there, like they cram him in to meet his quota or something, yet when it would make sense for him to be there, he didn't get allotted the minutes or something.
Kind of relaxing, mostly boring, and not productive fandom-wise. But it could be worse.