quiet_tiger: (SV nonsensical)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2011-04-14 08:49 pm

End of Smallville

Just saw a commercial for Smallville advertising "there's only four more episodes until the 2-hour series finale."

Really kinds of brings it home, doesn't it? I think we've all had part of ourselves glad the show is finally ending, but it's still sad, too, when you think how we've been here since the beginning, a lot of us, and it's been an important part of our lives.

How many people joined fandom through Smallville? I did.

How many people got a Livejournal account to share Smallville fandom? It was part of it for me.

For all of its massive flaws, the show really was something, whether a way to pass an hour a week or something that led to something more important in our lives.

The show launched careers. Carried a fledgling network. Retold a classic, famous story to a new generation in a new way.

As long as it's been on, it really is hard to believe it's over.

[identity profile] roxymissrose.livejournal.com 2011-04-15 01:25 am (UTC)(link)
I came here through another fandom but Smallville kept me here. I learned a lot, and met great, great people through SV. I think this was one of the best fandoms ever, open and kind to newbies. The show could be frustrating, infuriating, depressing and dumb--until the next good episode and then we were in love again.

Smallville, the lying jerk boyfriend of fandom--so hot you couldn't help but fall for it's crap week after week. Gotta love it! :)

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2011-04-15 02:38 am (UTC)(link)
That too--we stayed for Smallville because it was such a rich fandom in its heyday before there was so much arguing over ships.

It really was welcoming when I first got involved. Maybe it still is, I dunno. There was such a rich fandom by the time I joined and there still is, and there's something for everyone.

Smallville, the lying jerk boyfriend of fandom

Haha, it's so true! We kept coming back and back and back even when it didn't return our calls.

[identity profile] rosy5000.livejournal.com 2011-04-15 04:09 am (UTC)(link)
I came into Smallville in season 4, but it just grabbed hold and wouldn't let go. I didn't watch a lot of the last 2 seasons, but my nephew kept me updated on what was going on. It's going to be a huge hole in tv for me to see it go.

I was into fanfic before SV, but didn't really get involved in fandom or livejournal until Smallville.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2011-04-15 11:26 am (UTC)(link)
I know other people who came in during season 4, and I always wondered how that was possible considering how much of a let-down 4 was compared to 3 in particular.

The current season has been really enjoyable, but the previous three or so, ick.

Heh, SV dragged you into all of this! And I'm glad for it. :)

[identity profile] svgurl.livejournal.com 2011-04-15 06:56 am (UTC)(link)
NGL, I have been feeling a little bit emotional over Smallville ending (no matter how much I've claimed I have wanted it to in the past) and this post just summed up my feelings. I only came in during s4 but it just hooked me from the first episode I tuned into. Even when we ranted and bitched, it was only because we were so emotionally invested.

Like you, I started actively participating in fandom and made an LJ for Smallville. I think my username made that pretty obvious but still. :)

The show launched careers. Carried a fledgling network. Retold a classic, famous story to a new generation in a new way.
Perfectly stated.

IDK what I'll do when it's done. I am pretty sure I am going to cry on May 13th.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2011-04-15 11:29 am (UTC)(link)
I've been so ready for it to end the last few years, but I've had fun with it this season, so it kinda sucks! If they'd continued the disasters of the past few seasons, that would be one thing.

Either we were all emotionally invested, or we're all a little crazy. :)

Yep, I figured you were here for the SV, girl.

I think my feelings on the 13th will depend on how the finale is handled. They have a lot of work to do in the next month, and we all know how much the show fails at wrapping things up. But maybe since this is the end-end, they'll be more careful.