quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2010-12-21 09:45 pm

SV 10.10- Icarus

I wish this show didn’t confuse the heck out of me. I felt it had the usual problem of trying to cram at least an episode and a half’s worth into one.

Clark really does go big when he proposes, right? Except this proposal scene was realistic enough I believed it was real, unlike his weird proposal to Lana. It was very sweet, with the flower petals and everything.

But then the episode clearly became about the VRA and Slade and vigilantes having to go into hiding, so then why did they spend ten minutes at the beginning with the CLois proposal and engagement party and everything? For an episode that was clearly quite serious and focused on the story arc of the season, cramming the proposal into the beginning just seemed awkward. And that sort of thing is an end-of-episode thing, am I right? Like the first time they smooch—the build up was perfect throughout the episode! How long have they even been dating; has it been long enough for a proposal?

Gotta say Slade is creepy. Not sure I understand him here because I’m used to him fighting the Teen Titans (where he hurts Bart very badly), but he’s definitely disturbing. Not sure I understand the metal eye patch either or invulnerability, but it kinda works.

The whole VRA thing makes you wonder how people would behave in our world if a) there were vigilantes like Oliver and b) they were being taken against their will.

Speaking of being taken, it was really strange seeing Chloe again. I have to admit I kind of forgot about her. I guess I don’t view her absence as a problem; I don’t miss her. Especially if Tess takes over Watchtower and they start to push Ollie towards Dinah like we know happens anyway.

I’m really liking Tess, but I’m not sure why. Lois was great, too. The female characters on the show have only gotten stronger. Was it strange Martha wasn’t at the engagement party?

The best part of the episode for me was seeing so much of Hawkman. I think they do a really nice job with his character. Holy dramatic entrance, Batman! And he and Oliver have a crap ton of chemistry together! I mean, especially with Shayera and Chloe out of the picture for the moment… But of course they kill him! We know he’ll come back eventually, but still sucks he won’t be back! His funeral scene was poignant, but again took away from the main point of the episode, unless they plan on making a big deal that the VRA leads to the death of vigilantes. Maybe they’ll push that next ep. Wasn’t a fan of the body doubles for Vic, AC, and Bart either! They were represented but we didn’t see their faces. 

I think the VRA storyline is really interesting, and I love seeing more of the League together, and they’re pushing the Darkness thing well when they bother to, but I just wish things didn’t seem so rushed! That’s been my lament when it’s come to Smallville for years, though. Take more time to develop your real stories, and the other stuff won’t seem so tacked on.

But there is hope for the rest of the season to wrap things up and move forward with the CLois and League relationships.