quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2010-12-14 09:37 pm

SV 10.10- Luthor

Late review is late. The Internet thwarted me.

If Smallville does one thing right, it’s alternate realities. Even if they don’t make sense, they’re entertaining.

They’ve forgotten about Lukas again, as Tess gets whatever Lionel left to his “last heir.” And he isn’t mentioned by mirror Lionel.

She looks a little spooked by it. It’s Kryptonian.

Then Clark calls her to Cadmus labs. After a ridiculous statement about Luthor blood being poison, he tells Tess that there’s a Lex clone that made it out alive. Tess acts like she doesn’t know anything, but Clark breaks into the lead-lined room and finds a message written to Tess from Alexander. House of El shield written over and over on a chalkboard. He accuses her of lying, and grabs the Kryptonian thing she just got. He twists it and wakes up in bed with two women. Pulls on a shirt and Lionel is there quoting Marcus Aurelius and calling Clark “son.”

Must say this is quite the AU they’re put together here. Lionel fencing with Clark, telling Clark not to let his heart take over. Eventually wonders what would have happened if a hick farmer had found his “Traveler” instead of him.

Clark runs to the Kent Farm, where Tess is in the loft and tries to get physical with him, saying he’s adopted, though knowing she’s Lionel’s redheaded bastard. She realizes he’s missing a scar on his arm, and figures out that her version of Clark used a “mirror box” and switched the two Clarks between the parallel worlds.

In Metropolis, the streets are covered in litter. Lois hits Clark with her car. Oliver comes to her rescue. They both work at “LuthorCorp Media” and are engaged. Oliver and Clark went to boarding school together.

Clark chases a thief, who tells him “Ultraman” kills anyone who sees his face. Meanwhile the other Clark is in the regular world.

Regular Tess looking for Clark. The other Clark saunters in and starts making out with her. She likes it, but pulls back at the scar. Clark talks about the mirror box. Clark mentions “our father’s shadow” and Tess’s eyes widen. Clark also says it doesn’t feel right to not have blood on his hands before lunch.

Clark wants to know where the mirror box is so he can destroy it.

Clark seems to think this Tess is his Tess. She just plain looks freaked out.

Lois ignores a call from Tess. Tess calls dude behind Lois in line to get her to Watchtower.

Tells her about Clark. Clark makes a dramatic entrance to Watchtower, and says he heard Tess talking to Lois. Threatens to kill Tess if she doesn’t fork over the mirror box. (at least it’s not a “crystal”)

Mirror Tess rips a page out of a journal with info on the mirror box. Huh, Tess had given up the Luthor name and fortune, she says Lionel kicked her out.

Lionel says Tess is corrupting Clark. After an insult, Tess slaps Lionel. Lionel didn’t love her the way he loved Clark because she wasn’t special enough. Puts fear of Clark backstabbing into him.

Our Clark to the Fortress, where Lionel is there “surveying their progress.” There’s a workshop set up and Lionel says something about Clark and himself putting a lot of work into shutting up Jor-El.

Story of King Lear, give up the son who loved him all along. Clark deduces he killed Lex.

LuthorCorp destroying anything from Krypton.

Lionel says Oliver has the mirror box, his family got it when Veritas was dissolved.

Lois and Oliver’s engagement party. Oliver looks so sad. Wants to know why Lois chose him. She says it’s because he’s a very, very good man.

Clark blurs in and takes Lois away. Offers to exchange Lois for the mirror box. Lois is terrified of him. Clark gets all poetic on her and their real relationship.

Why would Lionel still name Clark “Clark”? He was named after Martha’s maiden name.

Here’s where my Internet froze the first time I tried to watch, which is why I had to postpone finishing the ep.

Anyway, Oliver gets Clark to come to the Watchtower building, where he’s set up a green K beam (he’s been buying up farmland and mining it for the rocks). He’s ready to kill Clark, but then Lionel knocks him out. Lionel proceeds to say that Clark isn’t worthy, and beats him with his belt.

It’s amazing how much of a bastard Lionel is here! Not unbelievable, but amazing. That he let Clark kill Lex for survival of the fittest, and that Clark is a failure because he didn’t kill him.

Oliver wakes up enough to switch the window back to normal, giving Clark the upper hand. He goes to Oliver, and tells him to turn the green K back on as soon as he leaves, and Oliver is convinced he’s the wrong Clark and tells him to go.

I love Clark coming back into his world with such chaos going on—what did the mirror Clark do to Watchtower?!

Really bitter sweet, nice scene between Clark and Tess at the end there. As much as I didn’t like Tess or found her useless in seasons 8 and 9, I’m really enjoying her being part of the League in season 10.

My exact response to Lionel at the end: “Auughh, creepy!!!!!!” while shaking my hands.

Overall I thought the AU world was extremely fanfiction-like. I mean, how many stories have Clark and Lex growing up together and being incestual? Luthor or Kent. And we all know the mirror Clark was with Tess only because Lex wasn’t around anymore.

I thought mirror Lionel was very true to what we know about Lionel pre-lobotomy that happened around season 5. Absolute power corrupts absolutely indeed. He’d be able to turn sweet Clark into a murderer.

I liked the nodes to canon, with Veritas and the mention of the Swanns. It’s like the writers and director had actually watched the show before! It’s kinda sad that that isn’t taken for granted.

Overall I thought this was another solid episode for season 10 except it really didn’t move the season arc at all. Though I appreciate the character info, and it was a treat to see Lionel again.


I'll get to Icarus on Thursday, barring getting stuck at work.

[identity profile] herohunter.livejournal.com 2010-12-15 04:37 am (UTC)(link)
People seem to be raving about this one. I dunno when it'll play here, but I'll try to watch, if anything to have more fic ideas! :P

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2010-12-15 12:20 pm (UTC)(link)
It was good. Very much like a fanfiction story brought to the screen. Like, older fic with just the updated characters twist.

[identity profile] threnody.livejournal.com 2010-12-21 06:15 am (UTC)(link)
Didn't Lionel and Martha have a kind of thing way back? Or some kind of unrequited something? If he was carrying a matchstick for her that might explain the AU naming.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2010-12-21 12:20 pm (UTC)(link)
I dunno if Martha would have been on his radar enough for him to think of her and especially her maiden name when Clark came into his life. It's a definite possibility though!