quiet_tiger: (Pimpernel)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2010-12-04 12:05 am

More Baby Names

Yahoo posted an update on the most common baby names of 2010.

...maybe it's just me--I mean, it must be--but I really, really hate the name "Aiden." "Sophia" I love, but those -ayden names, man. Nuh-uh.

But I'm posting to comment on the names they predict will be popular in the very near future:

And what about names that haven't even broken into the top 100? Who will be next year's newcomers?

Among the less popular names now moving up the girls' list are Isla, Adalyn, Giuliana, Olive, Kinsley, Evangeline, Paisley, Vivienne, Maci, and Kinley.

And although Bentley, Kellan, Kingston, Aarav, Ryker, Beckett, Colt, Paxton, Jax, and Lincoln are well below the top 100 on the boys' list, they're all fast climbers.



Honestly, in that list of 20 names I recognize 5, maybe 6, as actual names. More if you count surnames (but they're *surnames*). I could never name a kid "Ryker" and not think of Jonathan Frakes.

Though it is interesting to me that even with all the Twilight stuff, "Jacob" isn't the number one name anymore. I wonder how much "Edward" has jumped up the list? And I'd never even heard the name "Kellan" before the Twilight actor. I wonder if "Jasper" is becoming more popular? What's the line Bella has in the book, about the Cullens' names being from "another time" or "an older time"?

Names are just so interesting. Like the trend of girls names going both more old-school with "Sophia" and "Olivia" yet becoming more and more made up or a mashing of other names together.

[identity profile] herohunter.livejournal.com 2010-12-04 12:44 pm (UTC)(link)
Some names here that baffle my husband:

Zeneide, Geneide, Lenade, Elane, Edilane, Vani, Neide, Adriano, Andre (the last two aren't weird, but they're hard to say in Portuguese for an English speaker), not to mention all the others, hahahaha!!

:P

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2010-12-04 02:43 pm (UTC)(link)
I was about to say, I knew a really cool guy named Adriano in grad school. He had the most fabulous accent...

It's amazing that what sounds awful to one person is beautiful to another. It's got to be tough naming a kid!

[identity profile] myownghost.livejournal.com 2010-12-04 04:46 pm (UTC)(link)
people are naming little boys jax and colt? they sound like porn star names. :/

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2010-12-04 05:18 pm (UTC)(link)
"Jax" I just don't understand, but "Colt" bothers me because it's a firearms company. I don't have a problem with guns, but I have a problem with naming little boys after them!