Saw
I enjoy the movie Saw immensely.
Some of the writing is hilarious, particularly some of Adam's lines (poosibly because the guy who played Adam wrote it).
-"This is the most fun I've had without lubricant!"
-"I fell asleep in my shithole apartment, and woke up in an actual shithole."
-he says something about a "prehistoric bathroom."
The different puzzles placed by Jigsaw. Creepy! Except the one with the candle, the safe, and the poison in the naked guy's body, and glass on the floor- it was really complicated and I'm not sure how he was really supposed to survive that.
The ending. Holy. Fucking. Shit. Every slow point in the movie is made up for with the last five-ten minutes. Starting when Zep enters the bathroom. Adam smashing him with the lid of the toilet tank, and the beautiful shot with Adam in the foreground, as the music swells and you see the dead guy rise up in the background... Oh man, I love that. Game over!!
However, there are a few detracting points. Such as, the background/history scenes. Noteably Dr. Gordon and his daughter. Jeez, that squence goes on friggin' forever. The crazy ex-cop is a little unnecessary. And, of course, the guys who get the award for being the Worst Cops Ever. Jesus, not only did they not go by the book, they urinated on it then set it on fire.
And he gets his own category: Cary Elwes. Worst thing in the whole movie. I love him as Robin Hood in Robin Hood: Men in Tights, and it's so disappointing that he's awful in Saw. He accent keeps slipping, so even though he's American in the movie his character pronounces things with a British lilt, his expressions are weird, and the last scene between him and Adam, which could have been heart-wrenching, was just laughable. Stick to Robin Hood, Cary.
Holee shit.
I can understand why one paper here only gave Saw II half a star. If you didn't like the first one, you're sure as hell not going to like the second one, nor will you understand it. But if you did appreciate the first one... you're probably going to like this one.
The bad: it was kind of slow. The opening scene is wonderful, gets you right into it, but the progression from there isn't the best. Also, I'm not sure if you're actually supposed to like any of the characters, because they're all really unlikeable. Even Jigsaw, because it's kinda revealed that he's totally nuts, and I liked him better when he was just a rational, terminal guy. The gruesome scenes are even more gruesome in this. The scene with the hypodermic needles... Ugh. And all the spitting blood... more on that later.
But.
I actually had to grab Jenny, the jelly girl, who I happened to go see it with, at one point and squee at her.
When those lights turn on and it's revealed that the room they run into is the bathroom from the first one... Holy Fucking Shit. So amazing. The same music from the first one swells, and there is the same kind of replay-of-necessary-dialogue-so-you-can-understand-everything effect. It just. Wow. I even clapped. It just really spoke to me, and shows you the power of having the same guy write the movies because there were all kinds of references and stuff. Really, really wonderful, a sequel actually being a veritable sequel. Leigh Whannel, if you weren't a sick fuck, I'd want to marry you. Well, maybe it'd be okay anyway.
Just the way everything falls together at the end is beautiful. I'm thinking of going to see it again just to watch the whole thing through knowing how it ends. Not that I have any problem with seeing a movie twice, heck, I saw the first one twice in theaters, it's just a lot of money here.
Previews! Really interesting previews before the movie. Something involving what look like leeches. I'd save that to rent, but Nathan Fillion is in it, and I enjoy him.
And... *cue dramatic music* Eli Roth. Quentin Tarrantino. Putting out a movie together. Holy. Shit.
Let me explain. I enjoy Quention from such works as From Dusk Till Dawn, Reservior Dogs, Curdled, and Pulp Fiction. Eli Roth is much less known, but he was the director or a movie that actually kept me from falling asleep. It was called Cabin Fever and was the most horrifying thing I'd ever seen. It starred Ryder Strong, the kid from Boy Meets World, which has not a damn thing to do with anything but I thought you might want to know. This isn't a spoiler, per-say, but in that film there is immense amounts of blood being vomitted. The reason that I find this so terrifying, other than it being gross, is that it could happen to anyone. *shudder* I can't give away more without spoiling, and I don't feel like making another lj-cut.
Anyway. Roth did his graduate film project on a spoof of Reservior Dogs, called Restaurant Dogs. And, apparently, he and Tarrantino have put out a movie together, called Torture or some such thing. And I will be seeing it the day it opens, no exceptions. *bounces*
On a completely unrelated note, my next paper for that class for which I wrote my Sorority Boys paper has to be about television male/female relationships, and my immediate thought was that I could do an entire 50-page thesis on how fucked up Clark/Lana is. But, I have no idea what couples to write it on, so I dunno.
