quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-10-29 02:47 pm

*Sigh*



You know that thing where you're talking to someone, and for whatever reason a conversation the two of you had in the past is brought up, and one of you remembers bits of the dialogue word-for-word, and the other person has no idea what the other is talking about and gets all defensive?

I hope you know what I mean. But none of us can help it when we remember part of a conversation word-for-word. It just kinda happens. So why get angry when someone does it to you?

I went to Crazy Boss Lady today- she's been on "vacation" the past couple of weeks. She was genuinuely away for part of it, but did not go through with her plans to go away for the second part of it, but she did not call me to let me know she needed me, so I assume she didn't. But, I wanted to get the rest of the money she owed me, before she totally forgets who I am.

So, I went into the shop, and we chatted briefly, and she asked if she owed me money. Annoying in itself, because she should *know* she owes me money. Then, we had a disagreement over the payrate. She said she agreed to pay me 7, which is what I had marked down on the application-actually I said 7+ (because why not? I don't want to work for minimum wage if I can avoid it).

But, I specifically remember her saying that she paid the people in her shop 8 dollars an hour, so that it was a little bit more than min. wage and that therefore the workers would care a little more about the job. So, I told her that, and after a minute or two as she filled out the check she owed me, she said that she didn't appreciate me being "glib" with her.

Now, "glib" implies carelessness, deceit, and offhand ease, according to www.dictionary.com (I looked it up just to make sure it meant what I thought it did). But is it really my fault if I can remember a conversation we had that she cannot, and I recite it in a manner that seems "offhand"? She never, ever came out and said that she would pay me 7/hour. She also didn't say she'd pay me 8/hour, but I had inferred that that's what she meant by her statement that that's what she pays her staff.

And she babbled about how she pays different people different things depending on how they do the job, of course referring to the way things have been stolen on my watch (how about you don't put someone who has never worked retail on the floor by herself right away?). But if you agree to pay someone something, you can't just be like, "Oops! You suck so I'm going to pay you less." You can take it out of pay. Like, if you break a five dollar mug, pay five dollars less.

But. I never signed a contract. I never filled out tax forms. Legally, I do not work for her. And, unless she calls me in, I will not work for her again. Even to pay me she said I would have to fill out an invoice, which I never did, so God knows what it's going to do to her net income It is not worth my time and my sanity cannot take her accusations, lack of organization, or the stupid things she says. Like, today she blamed bad driving in the city on college kids graduating and getting cars. ... What? She lives in her own little world bubble. Join the real world, lady. No wonder your son thinks you're a psycho, and your old friend wants nothing to do with you.

A few weeks ago a guy came into the shop wanting to buy a bookcase. He and she talked about the craftsmanship for a bit, and the man said that he was a carpenter/contractor. She asked if he went to school for it, and the man proudly stated that he was taught by his father. Emphasis on the "proudly" there. But, the Crazy Boss Lady said that then the man only knows what his father taught him, basically implying that if the father was not good, than this man isn't either.

You can't do that!!! The man either didn't catch the dig or didn't care, because he still bought the bookcase and continued chatting.

It's called tact. Invest in it, and people won't think you're a crazy bitch.

[identity profile] lilitou.livejournal.com 2005-10-30 02:56 am (UTC)(link)
Man, that lady just sounds bitchier and bitchier every time you mention her. What a fucking nutcase.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-10-30 06:48 pm (UTC)(link)
*chuckle* She really is insane. I mean, we all have our own little worlds and realities, but not everyone tries to enforce those beliefs on others. I have more stories, but I can't remember any right now. She just thinks that she's wonderful and always right, but if she was always right and perfect, than her shop wouldn't be so close to being shut down. Her friend told me that she can't really afford to hire people to help her, so why the hell she even had a help wanted sign out front, I don't know. I just can't deal with that kind of crap, you know? It's completely unprofessional. She didn't even call all my references until after she hired me.

And hi, btw, haven't seen you post anything in a while.

[identity profile] grimms-creed.livejournal.com 2005-10-30 04:49 pm (UTC)(link)
Wow. That lady is really nuts. But you aren't working for her anymore, right?

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-10-30 06:53 pm (UTC)(link)
I've never had to work this closely with someone this nuts before. It's been quite a learning experience. But I don't know if I even need to officially "quit" since there is no legal papers saying that I even work there. I'm not going to voluntarily go there again, though. If she calls me and I have nothing else to do, maybe I'll go in. But I don't want to listen to her accusing me of sucking at the job, which I'll admit I probably do since it's nothing I've ever done before. But what's odd is that with all the things she claims have been stolen on my watch, she's never accused *me* of stealing them, which she is stupid to do. Not that I have any interest in stealing her stuff, but she hasn't insinuated that it was actually me (and if she did I would walk out).

And I would feel bad about stuff stolen on my watch if she hasn't had stuff stolen from her the whole time she's had the store- it's not like this is the first time.

So, I just can't handle that environment- it's too unorganized and it's pretty much unhealthy. But I don't know how to officially quit, and she'd probably lose a two weeks notice, if she didn't utterly forget I handed one in. She said something about an older lady coming in to help her out, so I don't know if that's a "subtle" dig that she doesn't need me anymore, or what.

But, basically, screw her.

hugs

[identity profile] laceymcbain.livejournal.com 2005-10-30 06:48 pm (UTC)(link)
Just a quick check in with hugs. I hope things get better. Nothing sucks quite like bad work related vibes, and money issues at work is a big deal. Huge.

*HUGS*

Re: hugs

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-10-30 07:01 pm (UTC)(link)
Thanks. It's just such an unstructured environment (the store, though I could also be describing her brain). Frankly I don't think it's healthy for me to stay there because since I can't really talk back to her, since she's my boss and everything, I just keep it inside and stew. I was at a freaking party last night and I was still stewing about being called "glib." It's not my fault she can't remember what she said, right? And if I recited what she said in an offhand manner, than so be it.

But, she paid me the difference between what we talked about, so I didn't lose too much money (not that the check was worth all tht much anyway). And I'm content to let people walk over me for the greater good *spits on video project girls*, but someone less of a doormat than I am won't stand for it. Though maybe she needs to hear what a raving psycho bitch she is...

But, I got a holiday job at the toy store down the street, so I'm not going to have to rely on crazy Boss Lady to get her act together. And it's a toy store, so yay! (and I can wear jeans, which is even nicer). It's just a matter of trying to quit a job you never officially were hired for. I suppose passive-agressive lack of showing initiative for hours is the way I'm going.

Thanks for checking in. *hugs back*