quiet_tiger (
quiet_tiger) wrote2008-08-09 09:21 am
Olympic fail.
Two Americans, relatives of a coach, killed in Beijing.
And what about the runners/cyclists in all that smog?
Epic fail to have the Olympics there if it's too polluted for the athletes to compete!
Not to mention protests and political dissent surrounding it all.
What idiot on the IOC greenlighted Beijing?
And what about the runners/cyclists in all that smog?
Epic fail to have the Olympics there if it's too polluted for the athletes to compete!
Not to mention protests and political dissent surrounding it all.
What idiot on the IOC greenlighted Beijing?

no subject
And yeah, the smog is horrible. I mean, I thought the opening ceremonies were fabulous but why would you have the summer Olympics in a place where the air quality is that bad? There are so many events that the people need to be outside ... doesn't anyone think about this stuff?
no subject
Apparently not.
I don't care *how* good the opening ceremonies were--you expect athletes and their families to be safe, healthy, and alive at the Olympics!
no subject
Also, because I'm Brazilian and I do love my country, I hope that Rio doesn't get chosen to host it any time soon! No way do we have the structure for that.
no subject
When is the last time the Olympics were held in a South American country? Hmm.
no subject
no subject
no subject