quiet_tiger: (corsets)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-10-11 05:39 pm

Why I Like Baseball

The last couple of nights I lucked out and got to watch the Yankees.  The commentators are awful- sure, maybe they know the game (they sure think they do), but they just say the dumbest things.  The last two nights had a bunch of innuendoes and weird phrases.

Things uttered by the commentators:

  • the pitch was "hard and heavy." -- The "pitch," hmm?
  • "shake that but" --sounds like "shake that butt"
  • "piece of-" --I thought he was gonna say "piece of ass"
  • "Almost like he was dropping anchor"-- not only does this make no sense to the game, it sounds really dirty
  • "It squirted through the legs of [the catcher]" --really doesn't sound right to certain ears
  • something was a "little nubber"-- just weird
  • "That was a fiesty at-bat." --Okay... and I do believe years ago they said that Paul O'Neill sashayed into right field.

In addition, the Angels coach said that his team had to "pitch our butts off," which just sounds weird coming from a coach, and Mel Stottlemeyer (pitching coach for the Yankees- I might have spelled his name wrong) was totally cupping the pitcher's hip last night on the mound.

Please, please, please don't write Yankees RPS.

But baeball commentators are way better than ice skating commentators- those people sound like they're on drugs all the time.

BUT, none of these lines comes close to topping my all time favorite poorly-phrased commentary remark.

A couple years ago during the US Open, Sampras and Agassi were either in the finals or the semifinals, and the commentator came out with this:

"Sampras is the bigger man by one and a half, maybe two, inches."

Now.  He meant that Sampras is taller.  But just based on that statement, that's not necessarily what he means.  I just found that HILARIOUS.

[identity profile] shadowcat170.livejournal.com 2005-10-12 11:26 pm (UTC)(link)
ROTFL!!! Oh man I miss baseball. And Sterling and Kay. They were decent announcers.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-10-13 09:36 pm (UTC)(link)
Heh, you've missed some interesting games. Last night the White Sox totally won the game on an umpire's error, and a tricky batter. It was hilarious. But these announcers are awful, last night again they said something that was really sexually suggestive, but I forget what it was.

When you get back to the States, we're totally going to see a ballgame.