SV: Mortal
Finally got around to watching Mortal. Jesus fuck.
Actually, I'm at the library and I forgot to bring my notes on the show with me, so this will be an abbreviated entry.
And usually, I go in order of the show, but I just have to say this:
After four years of back and forth bullshit surrounding the CLana, was that it? Was that little topless-Clark-on-top-of-Lana kissing the big romantic virginity-losing scene?
It was a bit anti-climactic.
Pun. So. Totally. Intended.
I really got a kick out of the way that earlier in the show it was all "I want it to be special, like you." "Lets wait." Blah, blah, blah. Apparently, the right time was whenever Clark wandered over to Lana's appartment, unless she always has a roaring fire going and candles lit all over the place. What is with this girl and candles? Guys out there, correct me if I'm wrong, but do you focus more on the surroundings or the willing female you're about to bone? Lana must have had the place ready in case Clark came back from "breaking up" with his "best friend."
And if it *wasn't* the big dramatic (if nauseating) sex scene, then what the hell was it?
Heck, on Buffy the scene where she sleeps with sleazy Parker (even in reruns, knowing that he's a sleaze) was way more romantic and interesting. And that was built up over four episodes, not four years. And for some reason the song that plays during that scene (the chorus is something like "I know, we are, we are the lucky ones") has been playing in my head all day.
Okay. Enough on the Clana. Just. God, it could have been done so much better. But then again, if it was any more graphic, I probably would have gotten nauseous. As it was, I stopped eating (I watched it while eating dinner last night).
Also, you know how in fanfic it's practically fanon that Clark is afraid to have sex because he's afraid he'll hurt someone? He'll be too Man-of-Steel and hurt his partner because he'll forget his strenth.
I was wondering if AlMiles would address any of that. At all. Large boy, overactive hormones, reptile brain taking over, Lana being a weak little girl...
Guess they weasled their way out of *that* one. "Let's just make Clark human when he has sex for the first time. Then alien strength, heat vision, and anything else won't matter." Good one, guys. Very clever. Pansies.
On to the rest of the episode.
Don't hate me, but I thought the bad guys were really cool. The main guy was kinda hot, and not totally irritating or stupid or Lana crazy. He'd be one of... one? FOTW who wanted Clark more than he wanted Lana. That kinda came out wrong. But maybe not... The bald twin guys were kinda creepy, in a Powder/mentally disturbed Lex kind of way. (Heh, "mentally disturbed Lex"- a bit redundant).
The writers need to find another word other than "serum." Please.
I was enjoying the Chloe-Clark team. I loved her quip about "super whining" being one of his powers. Clark really was struggling there, maybe now he'll realize that being human sucks. And they mentioned Pete! Holy crap, it was like Hell froze over.
And, maybe he was just putting on a big show, but Lexy appeared to be trying at the beginning of the episode. But, yeah, he's evil, yadda yadda yadda. Clark should know that by now. Maybe he went after him because he knew he could be in a fair fight?
Oh, and about this whole Rift thing. Someone mentioned that this is it, this is the rift because Lex and Clark were in a fist fight. But, at the end of season 3, didn't Clark tell Lex that, "This friendship is over!"? However, I place my version of the Rift before that. Specifically to the events of Shattered and Asylum. Lex WATCHES Clark use his powers, fuck, Clark used them to break Lex out of Belle Reeve, and then, when Lex needs assurance that he isn't going crazy, that he isn't losing his mind, there there is some semblance of what makes Lex who he is, what's remaining of his psyche, Clark LIES to him.
Like a big, fat, lying alien thing.
Lex wasn't on the dark side yet. Misguided, sure. Heavily influenced by Lionel, sure. But he wasn't yet on his slide. He was still Clark's friend. Look at the reception they gave each other when Lex first returned from the island! Long, eyes-closed hug. And then Clark lies to him, makes him think he's nuts, even though Lex knows something wasn't quite right, and then, well, nothing was ever the same between them.
Just my view.
I really can't remember anything else I might have wanted to say.
I have had a thing for Ryan Reynolds since like 1996, whenever Two Guys, a Girl and a Pizza Place premiered. He is cute, and funny, and a good actor.
But no one ever knows who he is. He was Van Wilder. He was in Blade Trinity. And the Amityville Horror. And now he's in Waiting, with another movie, Just Friends, coming out soon. He's engaged to Alanis Morisette, the lucky woman. And from what I understand he's going to play The Flash in an upcoming movie. Perfect casting, IMHO.
And, Waiting is damn hilarious. It was like a college sex comedy that took place at a restaurant. Really, really crude humor, but if you're in to that kind of thing, GO SEE THIS. There really isn't a plot to speak of, but that doesn't make it bad.
It's funny, Ryan is adorable, and sexy, and the cast is really good. A lot of people I recognized. And other people in the audience (all like ten of them, I went to this morning's first showing so I could get the matinee price) laughed, too. Also, stay through the credits.

no subject
I believe the phrase "gut her like a trout" is used several times. Also, "sperm moving near the speed of light". It really puts a damper on any pairings for our Kal-El.
no subject
But yeah, if the producers of the show made Clark lose his powers just to avoid that whole issue... Damn it. I hate them.
no subject
no subject
But man, wasn't Two Guys the funniest show? Ryan just had the best chemistry with the rest of the cast. It was so funny and clever. And then it got stupid. Too bad.
Mortal
*snicker* Good point. Normally they're all about Lana - although the one guy did LICK her. Ew. But really, apparently all the talk at Belle Reve is about the boy. Cool.
Anti-climactic. Hee. You bet. Still, I'm just as happy it wasn't more than that. I don't think I could've dealt with moaning and sweating and all that. Not with them, anyway. And you're totally right - TPTB totally skirted the Superman has sex issue. Bet they think they're all clever. We know better.
As for the Rift - I think it's going to be more anti-climactic than the sex scene. I think it's going to be one of those things that everyone waits for and no one can ever figure out exactly when it occurs. We want there to be something definable, a moment when it's clear they've stepped into their roles, stepped away from each other, but they keep giving us these weird two-steps. Two steps forward, one step back, and half the time you can't figure out where anyone stands on anything. I suspect the Rift is only a myth.
Ryan Reynolds as Flash - I've heard good, good things. I'm looking forward to that film. Much more than the Superman one.
Re: Mortal
But that describes the entire show...
And when I was talking about the "Rift" before, I didn't mean the supposed all-out "I hate you!" "I hate you more" argument and fight, I just meant that nothing has been the same since Asylum. Lexy was all evil, and Clark began his self-exploration on being an asshat.
I forgot Electricity Man licked Lana. It must have been really gross for the actor, with all the make up KK wears.
And believe me, I'm grateful that if that was the big sex scene, that was it. On one level. i don't want to see them bumping and grinding either, because if KK can't act happy- or at all (TW, either)- I don't want to see them trying to act like they're in ecstacy. Or whatever. (though based purely on the size of KK and the size of TW's hands and feet, Lana looks like she'd be in a lot of pain. But that may just be me.)
And if they did have sex, does that mean one of them will be evil or die? It seems to be the SV message. Sex is bad. Chloe regrets her affair with Jimmy, and everyone else dies or tries to kill someone. ...Not that trying to kill someone has never been part of Clark's or Lana's life.
Nothing is clear. Nothing is properly delineated. Ever. Well, not any more.