quiet_tiger: (short pants)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-10-05 07:37 pm

Various

I *did* lock that case.  I knew I did.  But someone forced the lock on the sliding glass door behind the front-most door, and forced the door to slide behind it, exposing the merchandise on one side.

So, a) someone was working with someone else and distracted me by talking to me while the thief worked behind me or b) it happened in the minute that both me and my boss were downstairs.  There's no way it could have happened while I was remotely pay attention.

So, my boss is upset, more with the theft than with me.  But she said she doesn't think she can have me on the floor by myself, which I totally understand, and yet today I was almost totally all by myself.

She can't afford a security system, nor can she afford to tell her insurance company because they'll quadruple her rates again.  Emphasis on that "again."  This is not the first theft by far.  Apparently someone stole a $150 sweater last year.  Jewelry I can understand.  But a sweater?  She said that someone probably just tucked it over their arm and walked out, and explained that she can't examine what everyone is carrying/wearing when they walk in the door.  Maybe if she didn't have furniture and stuff *blocking* her view of the door it wouldn't be a problem.  Or if she rearranged the store so half of it isn't at her back all the time.

Really, don't give dishonest people a bone, dude.

She vaguely implied that she doesn't want to fire me because she likes me.  Basically, she likes that she can walk all over me.  Sometimes I have a big fat mouth, but I've kept it shut around her.  And believe me, I've wanted to say stuff.  She's very vocal about her hatred of outsourcing.  I practically expect her to tell me she isn't opening the store one day because she's going to chain herself to a Walmart in protest.  But she doesn't know anything about me, or my opinions on outsourcing.  And I do have opinions on the topic, that I'm not going to type here because I'm tired.

And today, she insulted .

I love Halloween.  It's, like, my favorite holiday.  I used to like Christmas, but I don't anymore, but I've always loved Halloween.  I'm not really sure why, but really, how can you go wrong with getting free candy?  I'm not too proud to admit I trick-or-treated throughout high school, with collecting change for Unicef being my cover.  The candy was just a bonus.  The dressing up is okay.  I just like the nifty decorations and stuff.

But, today she said she doesn't like the holiday.  I mentioned candy! and she said that a lot of people in her family are diabetics, so she never understood it.  Rain on my parade, why don't you.  And I tried to talk about trick-or-treating, and she said she didn't like kids going around and people handing out "crap candy."  God forbid kids get a little joy, even if it's from cheap candy.  People are never going to hand out Gertrude Hawke or Lindt. 

And peanut butter cups were like frickin' gold to me!  Mmm, memories of dumping out my candy on the floor or dining room table, and counting how many Reese's cups I got.  With my dad taking a couple for payment for taking me around (my mom liked to stay home and hand out the candy for other kids).  And then getting the leftover stuff that my mom didn't hand out (we don't live in a really popular neighborhood- fewer and fewer kids every year.  Cops in the bigger neighboorhood nearby.).  But she always gets stuff that she likes, which meant that one year I was stuck with a bunch of Good-N-Plenty, which I think is vile, and she always gets Twizzlers, which are okay but not my fav.

And then she described a yearly thing where people take kids up Main Street and the shop owners have little stops and give out candy to the kids that come by.  She doesn't partake in this, because she doesn't want a ton of kids in her store destroying it.  And she also sees no way that it's a business venture, so it isn;t favorable for her to do it.  God forbid you spend a little money and make some kids happy.  And the grown ups with the kids will at least see your store, and you don't have to let them in, just hang outside or near the door!

How this woman even keeps this store afloat is beyond me.  Oh wait, it's barely afloat.

But don't knock Halloween.  My sixth grade teacher hated the holiday and refused to let her kids take part in it.  She refused to let us have a party.  Instead, we happened to have book reports due around the same time, so we had a "character" party where we had to dress up as a character in our books.  I didn't tell my mom that because we were still having a party, so when I told her I needed to bring in paper cups for the Halloween party, she got ones with pumkins on them.  So my teacher said that we'd call them "pumpkin characters" so that they fit the theme of the party, and not a Halloween theme.

I just love Halloween, even though there are no presents and no days off from school.

Lastly, Surface.

Does anyone else watch this show?  It fucking rocks!  It's on NBC, Monday nights at 8.  It is so good.  Gripping stories, likeable characters... It's actually one long story broken up among different characters.  And, because the reception on NBC isn't great with my antenna, I'm totally basing my opinion on the characters, writing, and plot, and not the special effects, which look okay but it's really hard to tell.  Sometimes the sound isn't so good, but that's okay.  Each episode ends with kind of a cliffhanger, or at least an action-filled scene or a scene you want to see the ending to, so at the end of each episode I get upset that it's over!  I love House and everything, but each episode is pretty self-contained, with a resolution, so it's not the same. 

I really, really recommend the show.  I have no idea if it will last.  But, since it's not on FOX, it has a chance for a least half a season.

[identity profile] roxymissrose.livejournal.com 2005-10-06 04:15 am (UTC)(link)
And peanut butter cups were like frickin' gold to me! Mmm, memories of dumping out my candy on the floor or dining room table, and counting how many Reese's cups I got.
Oh yeah!!!

And your boss is a frickin' idiot.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-10-07 02:08 am (UTC)(link)
Gotta love peanut butter cups. I just remember the number of peanut butter cups being the basis on whether or not it was a good Halloween. :)

Yeah, my boss needs some help.

But she could never afford it.

But it's like working with someone with no short term memory or something.
ender24: (Default)

[personal profile] ender24 2005-10-06 10:37 am (UTC)(link)
everytime your boss opens her mouth, you should play some nice clex or other hot visuals in your mind, you seriously need to block out this poison of a woman!

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-10-07 02:09 am (UTC)(link)
Haha, I'll definitely keep that in mind!

Mmm, Clex...

[identity profile] monkeyputz.livejournal.com 2005-10-06 02:32 pm (UTC)(link)
*pout* How could she insult Halloween?!?!? That is sooo wrong. I love Halloween...of course you know that considering how much I talk about it. I already have my costume and have decorated my apartment (I know this is sad). BTW, you should stop by to get your comforter so I can give you your Halloween Party invite. It will be a lot of fun!

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-10-07 02:17 am (UTC)(link)
This woman is nuts, dude. Like, no concept of how the world works, twists it the way she wants. It's quite frustrating.

I'm not sure when I'll be able to stop by. I have to work with my group on our video project (what a circus that has become) tomorrow night and Saturday, not sure what times. Will you be around Sunday at all?

And I'll definitely be at the party, no worries!

[identity profile] monkeyputz.livejournal.com 2005-10-07 01:39 pm (UTC)(link)
Let's try this again...computer froze before I could submit the comments I wrote...

Anyway, parents are in town this weekend, so I can't guarantee my schedule. Are you off on Monday? I may be available later that day. Glad you are going to come to the party! : )

P.S. So sad that we are both so crazy busy that this is the only way we can communicate (even AIM has gone out the window)

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-10-07 02:32 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah, with my comp issues AIM is definitely off the hook. And I forgot your parents were coming up. Tell them I say hi. And Monday... psychobosslady may call me in to help her organize shit. And we may be filming the video project. But I think Monday night would be okay because I don't have class, and I don't think we've scheduled to work then. But I'll give you a call or something once I know. What sucks most is that the weather is gonna get cold soon, and I need my blanket! And, of course, that it's taking up space in your room.