Smallville Season 5 Premier
I'm in such a great mood right now. The day is gorgeous. And, the gods of antenna TV were favorable and let me tape Smallville last night.
Oddest of all, though, is that I actually liked it.
Well, the WB promised that everything we'd be waiting for would happen. Well, Lana is still alive, Lois is still there, and Clark and Lex haven't had rough sex on screen ("rough" only because they're all pissed at each other lately).
But, I can look beyond that.
Of course, I had many thoughts while watching, and I really, really miss Becca, my Smallville buddy.
TW's acting skills seemed to have devolved back into stares. Mostly, the "I have indigestion" stare, and the "someone's digging a pencil into my back" stare. He was kindasorta good last season, even while the rest of the show sunk around him.
New opening credits? After all this time? Changing the caps they use, sure, we don't need TW looking all relatively emaciated, but there was different animation, too. And ERICA DURANCE. WTF? SHE SHOULDN'T BE THERE AT ALL!! Oy. Maybe if they only give her a minute or two of screen time an episode, she'll be okay. As long as she brings out snarky Clark, she's tolerable.
So. The black Kryptonian guy. Is he the same guy who played Riley's commando friend in Season 4 of Buffy? 'Cause he looked exactly the same. Especially with the effects to make him look disturbingly like the Buffy dude once he was killed and zombiefied by Adam. That statement made no sense to non-Buffy fans.
Casting people of the future: if you need to fill a role where an actress has to fake an injured leg, don't cast Kristin Kreuk. 'Cause she sucks at looking injured. She looked more like her jeans were too tight.
Was it just me, or was the destroyed Kent farmhouse really heartbreaking? Everything gone, and they didn't have too much to begin with. It was awful.
Raise your hand if you're sick of the damn octagonal disk. *waves hand frantically in air*
I *love* Lex's expression after Lana collapses in the road. "Great, now what am I going to do with her?"
Clark's expression in the Fortress when he tells Chloe, "I appreciate that." (But I have to kill you.)
CHLOE KNOWS!!!! Thank fucking God!!!! Last season was just *painful* with her knowing and him not telling and her not insinuating quite that much and augh!!!!! But now, maybe they can, I dunno, be real friends, without her being all weird, and him being all weird.
You'll note that Chloe asked if Lana knows. I'd be all warm and superior inside if I were her. But she didn't ask about Pete. I guess that's because Pete doesn't exist anymore. Wichita is a black hole or something.
I love that Lex dumps Lana on the balcony of his office, rather than in one of the multiple guest rooms that mansion must have. Perfect for her to wake up and find Lionel all crazy. So are we gonna have Lionel being useless and not the MB anymore? Are they going to fix that at all?
So. Martha wakes up from having a house fall on her, she's unconscious for God knows how long, and she can speak fine, no dry throat or anything, when she wakes up. Is that normal? I think I'd be asking for some water at that point.
Heh... Lex tells Clark to "be straight" with him. Where's the fun in that, bois?
Anyone else feel all happy inside when Lana got slammed head-first into the bookcase with the vases? No? Just me, I guess, and my Lana-hatred.
Anyone else think that the writers have seen Superman 2 one too many times? So, if Superman 1 is Clark's arrival, and Lex being evil, and Superman 2 is the Kryptonians who get trapped in the sheet of glass (or whatever it is), then halfway through the season, Richard Pryor is gonna be a guest star, and next season will open with the other dude who takes power from the sun, from Superman 4, I forget his name.
And the evil pale Kryptonian chick looked like the woman in Dude, Where's My Car, one of the evil alien women who keeps telling Jesse and Chester that she's going to give them oral pleasure. But it's not. Just looks like her.
How did Lexy find Chloe? Like, seriously. I know he's connected and evil, but she was in the Yukon, according to him. Did he put out a worldwide APB for blonde girls brought into hospitals by tall, cute dark-haired guys?
Lex's message to Lana in the paper: "You owe me one." OMG! More Luthor-Lang conspiracy work. That's probably not going to be a good thing. And, please, I beg you, AlMiles... no Lexana. God, no. I will cry.
Did the lighting on Clark and Lana when they smooch disturb anyone else? All you could see was Clark's right eye, and it just STARED at me, and I didn't like it. It reminded me of the Terminator. (Or Tim's eye when he comes across his dead father- why the hell did I read that page at scans_daily? It haunts me.)
Did you catch the "Next week on Smallville segment?" I swear to God, I will have no words if Lana and Clark lose their virginity to each other. Because I will be retching in the bathroom. I'm getting queasy just thinking about it. Of course, that's getting beyond the speculation that there is no way someone who looks like Clark could have left high school with his virtue- so to speak- intact. And, the RedK summer. Puhlease, he couldn't have spent the sumemr high out of his mind and not gotten somewhere. And, you know, the way Lex eyefucked him all the damn time in seasons 1 and 2- Clark had to have at least gotten to third, even if it was *just* the eyefucking. And what about Alicia? For all the stripping down and everything, they didn't seem to really get past first base, maybe I can give them second. Come on, Clark! Apply yourself! And not to Lana, the frigid witch princess of destiny.
I love that James Marsters got credit as a Special Guest Star, and I don't think he was even onscreen for more than two seconds. His hair is dark! It's so different from the bleached locks that Spike had. And... it appears that they're letting the man show his age, which is certainly odd to Buffy fans, since Spike's character was what, in his mid-20s or so, even though he was played by a guy in his late 30s? So, it kinda looks like James has aged like 10 years in one for Buffy fans. At least, to me. I can't wait to hear what he actually sounds like, without the British accent. </fangirl gushing>
Overall, I enjoyed the episode. And since I hadn't been expecting to, I was pleasantly surprised. I pointed out what I considered flaws, but I really did think the episode was good. Though based on Season 4, it really couldn't possibly be *worse*.
I'm exicted- I can look forward to watching Smallville again! But... not if Clark and Lana become each other's firsts. A community needs to be started for that- Fans Against CLana First Time or something. I amuse myself so easily sometimes.

no subject
I think it is him. And I also thought it looked like how he was once Adam got through with him.
I also thought it was hysterical that Lana got so far away from where the helicopter crashed with a broken leg. She just dragged it the whole way. :D
I was secretly hoping Lex would actually run her over. But him thinking she was nuts for seeing a spaceship was much better.
And I love Chloe so much more now that she knows the truth. (I only just started watching the show in the middle of last season.)
*Goes to hunt for a Chloe icon.*
no subject
And Lana wandering around Smallville was totally ridiculous. I hope that if I ever break my leg, I'm able to galavant around town. (And really, if Lex had run her over, I would have jumped around shouting with joy).
Chloe is definitely more likeable now that she has been in the past. (spoilers for earlier seasons in the rest of this paragraph). First she was totally infatuated with Clark, which made her annoying, then she teamed up with Lionel against Clark, then she was sort of cool, but then she went evil again, and now since she knows, they can work her in better. So she'll be a real character and less of a sidekick type.
Good luck hunting for icons! :)
S5
Wichita is a black hole or something.
You got that right. It's like the Bermuda Triangle. No one who goes there is ever mentioned again.
then halfway through the season, Richard Pryor is gonna be a guest star
LOL. I still want to write a fic where Lex is contemplating purchasing real estate along the San Andreas faultline. Superman 2 ... gotta love it. *g*
On the matter of sex - yeah, when I saw the posters for this seasons that said "good sex, bad Lex" I thought it was someone's idea of a joke. Apparently not. *Shakes head* The mooning over one another with doe-eyes is going to be really hard to take. I can feel it already.
James Marsters is 42 or 43. I think that's awesome, and if they're letting him play a more mature role, all the better.
It's going to be a very interesting season.
Re: S5
I think Lex is too smart to purchase real estate on a fault line... I don't understand why anyone does, because one shift of the fault and their house is gone. But Lex could probably use it to his advantage.
""
Huh? Good sex meaning the Clana? Because two virgins, one the little frigid Lana... the sex isn't gonna be good. And Lex has been bad for a while. Maybe not in the Mr. Burns kind of way yet, but he's still no longer a nice guy. Besides, according to the rules of Smallville, once Clark and Lana have sex, they're both going to turn evil, die, or feel really, really bad about it.
Yeah, James was way old for the part in Buffy, which I didn't know until the last two seasons and my friend, all dejectedly, told me he was 40. I said it didn't matter, and she was like, "You'd date a 40 year old!?" And I was like, "Probably not, but I also never said I was gonna date James Marsters. Since he doesn't know exist or anything, and I really know nothing about him, only Spike." But I like that he can now show his age, without so much makeup, and botox, and whatever else.