Red Sox fan security
See, Yankees fans aren't insane. And I've never met one who is cruel.
I have met Red Sox fans of both descriptions. Was told that "Yankees fans have no heart and no soul." What, exactly, is a good response to that?
What follows was copied directly from an email sent to students.
"Reminder: Celebrate Smart, Safely and Responsibly
As many of you recall, the celebrating during last year’s baseball post-season games between the Red Sox and Yankees turned unruly, resulting in property damage, disturbance of the peace, arrests, personal injuries and even the loss of life. With this year’s regular baseball season drawing to end, the American League East champion will be decided this weekend when the Red Sox host the Yankees for a three game series. As in the past, I encourage you to root for your team, but that your behavior be responsible, lawful and respectful of others regardless of outcome.
The Residence Life staff will be hosting viewing programs in the halls on Friday evening where students can watch the game together and enjoy some snacks. For more detailed information, please look for posting announcements in your building or ask your RAs. In addition, the College has arranged to have extra staff on duty throughout the weekend during and after the games. It is also my understanding that the Boston Police will have additional details patrolling throughout the City this weekend. For your personal safety it is recommended that you avoid congregating in large crowds in any of the City's neighborhoods. On the other hand if you find yourself in such a situation, stay aware of your surroundings and if you are directed by the Boston Police to disperse, please do so immediately. Failure to disperse may lead to your arrest.
I want to remind you that the Emerson College imposes an obligation on all its students both resident and non-resident to demonstrate responsible citizenship both on- and off-campus. The College reserves the right to refer any Emerson student identified as being involved in behavior that is disruptive of its community/city relations or that is considered to be offensive to the generally accepted standards of social conduct to a Conduct Board for disciplinary review. I truly hope no such action becomes necessary.
Your anticipated cooperation and support is most appreciated.
Enjoy the games and please be safe"
Would that be necessary in New York? Since NY has *won* the World Series more than once in the last 87 years, no, of course it wouldn't be necessary. Even if the Yankees did have a dry streak, I really doubt they'd lose their minds totally. When the Rangers won the Stanley Cup after 54 years, was it necessary? Absolutely not. And I don't know jack about basketball or football, so I can't come up with a comparison there.
You'll also note that for some reason he wrote the email using two different color fonts.
Boston, your fans are fucking crazy. (I don't mean to offend Red Sox fans, but, jeez, keep it in your pants, okay?)

no subject
And really, it was the cops' fault that things got really ugly. Most of the fans kept it nice and calm.
Oh, and this is Matt from Hamilton. Joanna gave me your name. Hope you don't mind.
(Yankees Suck)
no subject
I've never *met* Lakers fans, so I dunno what they're like. But I have seen footage of soccer riots, those freaky people there.
If there wasn't pandemonium, there wouldn't have been anything for the cops to let get out of control.
And since I think the Sox suck, we can agree to disagree. ;)
no subject
no subject
*That's* just insulting.
And I'm not basing my argument on just the email. It's the experiences I've had around Red Sox fans. Even when they don't win, a lot of them are mean when it comes to the game. Heck, the sports guy on the evening news makes snide little comments about the Yankees, and there's the constant comparison of the Yankees and Red Sox, and not just with respect to the standings. The New York news doesn't *do* that. I told you about the people at school. There is no reason for direct attacks. And it's not just me. Other people have argued the exact same thing. Even look at menocchio's comment above- no where did I say the Red Sox suck, my post was entirely on the types of fans, and yet, he included in the bottom that the Yankees suck. I know he's just teasing, as the entire controversy can be lightened to, but it's exactly my point (and if he isn't teasing, well, oh well). The Curse, breaking the Curse, the GAME consumes, and frankly it's frightening. I don't know people with that type of obsession about anything else. The news interviewed people, and it's like their entire lives depend on the success of the Red Sox- their happiness. I'm sure Fever Pitch was an amusing movie, but I think I'd be highly disturbed by it if I ever saw it. And it *was* about the Sox.
And maybe, if the Yankees ever experience a high hope dry spell for 86 years, maybe we can find out if New Yorkers would react the same way. Granted, *we* will never experience that, but perhaps our great-grandchildren will. But like I said, when the Rangers won it wasn't mass pandemonium, riots in the street.
I just find it amazing that the problem was so bad it warranted a preemptive email to the entire school, before the playoffs have even *begun*.
Lilitou, shadowcat170, back me up here...
no subject
That's bull! New York is just as bad. You want to talk about crazy. . .last year New Yorkers went and prayed at the grave of Babe Ruth for the Sox to lose when things went sour for them, and did you not see the Times Herald Record the day after the end of the post season. It was all negative about the Sox (I kept the clippings if you want proof). Also you of all people should know that it is wrong to judge a group of people on the actions of one or two, and menocchio was right, it was a mistake by the cops that caused the problems. Many schools got these warnings about many different sports all over the country.
The reason fights break out between Red Sox fans and Yankees fans is due to taunting. . .from both sides.
"The news interviewed people, and it's like their entire lives depend on the success of the Red Sox- their happiness."
You should know better, considering your major. The news is only the bad stuff. That's why people think the world is so horrible and scary. That's why people are afraid of the big cities, because they see only the negative on the news. The news only shows the bad things that happen when fans are celebrating. . . because that's what people want to see. They only interviewed the obsessed fans. Every team has obsessed fans.
"I just find it amazing that the problem was so bad it warranted a preemptive email to the entire school, before the playoffs have even *begun*."
Excuse me but isn't that the point of doing something "preemptive" - to stop it before it begins.
"I told you about the people at school. There is no reason for direct attacks. And it's not just me. Other people have argued the exact same thing."
What are you talking about?
no subject