quiet_tiger: (corsets)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-09-23 08:26 pm

Grrrrrrrrrr

This is going to be a mixed post. The first part will be a brief rant, the second a brief description of the most enjoyable hour of TV I've seen in a while.

First off: FOX cancelled Headcases already. Grrrrr. *Kicks FOX in the nuts*

*Repeats*


Now. I know that this show was destined to be cancelled. Why? Because it was on FOX. But I thought that since they promoted it so heavily with constant commercials over the summer, that it might survive. But, it didn't. Maybe the ratings weren't good enough. But can you really analyze ratings so early in the fall season? At least wait until the season settles down a bit. It just really annoys me.

And it's not like this is the first time I've grown attached to a show on FOX only to have it ripped out from under me very quickly. I was in love with Freakylinks, for one (still am infatuated with Ethan Embry because of that show).

But Headcases is more entertaining than Bones. And yet that, I don't think, has been cancelled yet. At least try changing time slots or something.

Goddamn it.

Now, this morning I watched Maury, and then forgot to change the channel like I usually do to CBS to watch the Price is Right (I have mentioned I'm a geek, right?). So, I caught the beginning of the Jerry Springer Show. Please keep reading for an interesting analysis (I just wanted to cut this so it doesn't take up too much space on peoples' Friends pages).



Let me say here that I used to watch Springer whenever I was home for school, back when the show was more than live triangles. I mean, what other show can you watch with the episode titles "600 Pound Angry Mom," or "We Still Live in a Car," or "I live in a Box"? I even have a poster in my room with a list of 15 qualities to be a guest on the show (for example, "Can you throw a chair?") But then the show got too bad even for me to watch it, and it just got more and more circus-like, so I found other things to watch.

But. Today was "Jerry's Day Off," and Steve the security guy hosted. Steve is practically more popular than Springer. He even has his own "Steve! Steve!" chant. I think the guy is hilarious.

So, he hosted today. There were two stories, one a 17 year old girl and a 20something year old woman fighting over the same 24 year old man. It was complicated. The second story was a woman who was pissed that her husband still beats her and treats her like crap in front of their kids (this was their third visit to the show).

What made the episode so great was that Steve, of course, lacks the tact that Jerry has. Springer was a governor, for Pete's sake. Steve in an ex-cop. So, Steve was telling it like is to these people, saying things that Jerry either wouldn't say, or couldn't. And what I really liked was that the things he said were the things that people needed to hear. For example, he told the (incredibly fat, obnoxious) man who beats his wife that "any man who hits the mother of his children is a piece of crap." It was incredible. Springer just always seems to want to get people to fight, or he makes fun of them, but I think Steve might actually get through to these people.

He seems more like the D. West character that the show desperately needs (D. West is the huge dude who comes on Maury to motivate troubled teens or battered women to shape their own lives for the better. He seems scary on TV, but I've met him and he's a sweetheart). I really feel that Steve could have his own show, where he actually gets through to the trash that is out there and changes them. It. Whatever.

I really liked when Steve asked Fat Obnoxious Guy if he expected his sons to behave the same way, and FOG said that yeah, if his sons' wives weren't doing their jobs, they should teach them that they need to shape up. But then Steve asked if FOG wanted his daughter to be treated the way FOG treats his wife, and he didn't have anything to say to that. So he clearly knows it's wrong if he doesn't want his daughter to be beaten, and yet it's still somehow okay for him to beat his wife.

I think what really helped in both stories is that Steve apparently has a daughter of his own, so he can see the stories from a parent's perspective. I don't know if Springer has kids, but he doesn't seem like he does. Kids in general were brought up more in this episode than any previous episode of Springer that I can remember.

That's all for now, unless something else comes to mind.