The (New) Batman
Today was apparently the season premier of The Batman.
Thank God someone had been talking about this season somewhere, so I was somewhat prepared for the appearance of Batgirl. I hadn't been expecting it to be so soon, though.
My major qualms about the episode:
- They changed the theme song to some 60s-sounding thing. I had grown to really enjoy the old theme song. I *hate* when shows change their theme songs. It really bothers me.
- Batgirl shouldn't even freaking be there. I forget what that person said the reason was for introducing her instead of Robin. But why is she there? Robin should be there. Batman should have taken in Dick, watched the poor boy suffer, and then train him to be Robin. I've never understood why canonical things are changed in anything, like in Batman and Robin, where Batgirl was Alfred's niece. What was up with that? It's just very jarring to see Batgirl without Robin. I've never cared for Batgirl anyway, so it's just extra irksome. It's just skewing everything.
- They introduced Poison Ivy. Except it's more like Poison Ivy's deliquent sister. Pamela Isley is a friend of Barbara Gordon's, and she's an environmentalist who is rebelling against chemical companies. She gets covered in a chemical solution used to manipulate plant growth. She's a teenager. It's so WRONG. Poison Ivy is, like, the Gotham female sex symbol (other than Catwoman, I suppose), with her sexy little green unitard, her phallic plants and vines everywhere (and we all know that flowers are always used for allusions to female genitalia in literature), and her damn manipulations of pheremones ("She's trying to kill you, Dick"). The boys all lust after her because of said pheremones. So... how is it right to make her a teenager? It's just creepy. Joke about Batman and his intentions toward Dick, but this is a whole different kind of pedophilia. I'm not sure what message it's sending to kids, if any, but it can't be good.
- It looks like Barbara is a Batman watcher one night, then Batgirl the next. Um... no. I can't imagine Batman recognizing that Barbara is good at gymnastics (is that canon?) and handing her the little Batgirl outfit just because. Dick at least got trained. And does she now know who Batman is?
I'll just have to watch next week for the episode's conclusion. But, if I'm as appalled then as I am now, I can't see me watching it for much longer, which is really unfortunate because I really liked the show.
In other news, procrastination, thy name is Batman. I have zero interest in the work I have to do for one of my classes, so after I got sick of working on it today (way before schedule) I took a walk around town. I wound up at the comicbook store. (
monkeyputz, Newbury Comics does sell comics- they just don't have a great selection). After scrounging for DC stuff- the shop annoyingly seems to prefer Marvel- I picked up volumes one and two of Hush, which I've been meaning to get for a couple of months. So I'm excited.
Do I have time to read them? No.
Do I have the money for them? Barely.
But I wanted them, I was in a rotten mood, and I realized that other than food and two movie tickets, I haven't spent any money since I moved. And I wanted to splurge on myself, as I felt it necesary. So there.
And it's weird, since I added communities and some other people to my Friends list, my Friends page has been pretty dead. I hope everyone's okay.

no subject
The Batman
As I said, I just don't understand why stupid Batgirl is there at all. It really bothers me. Now it's probably just going to turn all kiddyish and not appeal to anyone remorely grown up anymore. It's not in a great timeslot for what it is, anyway, but that doesn't mean they have to dumb it down. And the theme song change lends itself to that switch, too, more kiddyish than a good theme.
I'll give it a few more episodes (the last few before this one were pretty strong, I thought), but if it still grates on me, I'm going to have to give it up. Thank God I have a bunch of last season's episodes on tape (because sometimes I am obsessive like The Bat).
And I'm really glad I'm not the only one who is disappointed!
Re: The Batman
I'm still thinking about a Batman/Joker fic--that ep made my brain explode.
Re: The Batman
And with Bruce so clearly pining for attention from the Clown Prince of Crime, well, you just have to take what's given to you. :)
But, I thought "Batman needs... a Robin?" ;)
no subject
Right!!! Which made the Joker line the funniest creepiest slashiest line of all time! I'm thrilled to pieces that you find the Joker truly scary--he is! You really understand that not only is he nuts, but he's really dangerously killer-style nuts, not just the annoying loony-tunes he is in the other cartoons. And of course I *love* this Joker. I was disappointed in the Penguin, mildly amused by the Man-Bat, and really upset I didn't see all of the Clay-Face ep, but the Joker--they outdid themselves each time out! *grin*
Sorry, I just don't get to talk about this show much. lol! Does it show? ;)
no subject
""
That's really quite disturbing, that they actually played off of that line with the Joker. Really disturbing.
I was watching an ep over New Year's when I was at my Uncle's house. I was trying to get my cousin to watch with me- she was 8 at the time- and it was the first episode I saw with Joker in it. She didn't seem too thrilled about the show, but for a Nickelodeon/MTV watching kid these days, a show with emotion and plot is just too advanced. Anyway. As I was watching it, there were so many closeups of his eyes, and a part where the eyes were all that you saw, and it was damn creepy!
Batman:TAS just really doesn't do The Joker justice. I mean, Joker is like THE Batman villain. He killed Jason. He paralyzed Barbara. And yet he's not always taken seriously. This Joker I can actually see being a real threat. Heck, he turned poor what's-his-name into Clayface! He's a real threat!
Catwoman's ginormous goggles kind of throw me. I think The Penguin is okay. I'd never heard of Man-Bat before, so I couldn't have an opinion. What do you think of The Riddler? Just what in the heck is going on with him? He has that Marilyn Manson thing going on for some reason. I half expect him to break out into shitty rock and role whenever he's onscreen. Or, write bad gothic poetry or something.
no subject
Cat woman's goggles--I think they're yanking the inspiration for that image from the books, maybe?
Oooooh, right--that strange dude with the staff is the Riddler? I only caught a few seconds of an ep with him, so I can't say. The Riddler always struck me as a half-wit--kind of a low rent Joker. (not obessed, no!)
no subject
I just really can't believe they made Poison Ivy a teen- that's just screwing everything up in itself. I guess it's good it's a new villain, instead of just Joker, Catwoman, and Penguin over and over and over.
Yeah, probably Catwoman's goggles are taken from the comics. But they're just so awkward-looking.
Yeah, the long-haired dude in green with the staff is the Riddler. He's a kind of weird character. Different than you might expect, anyway. I always liked the Riddler, but yeah, he doesn't really serve a purpose most of the time except to annoy poor Batman.
I wonder who else they're going to bring in this season. Who else is left? Scarecrow, the Calendar Man, I dunno.