quiet_tiger: (baticon)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-09-10 10:13 pm

Good Day

As in, I had a good day, not the British salutation "Good day!" *spoken in Monty Python-esque cackly cockney*

The cut should read, in Latin, "I love books," but I'm not sure which case libri is or which it should be, and I'm not sure I'm using the right plural form- Latin was a long time ago and I was never good at that anyway.

Why did I title this I love books?  Today, once I actually got moving- my Internet connection worked and I was taking advantage of it- I bought my books for school, which wasn't exactly thrillsville but it had to be done.  They weren't as expensive as I thought they would be (those of us who have bought science texts really can't be surprised by much other than maybe photography supplies), but I'm not sure they gave me the right books.  We'll see.

Then I walked downtown to the Public Library, which is a ginormous building (I think it's actually three connected buildings) that actually has a gorgeous little courtyard in the middle of it.  I've been meaning to get down there are get a library card since I moved, but since I didn't yet have my subway pass I didn't want to spend money to go there.  I didn't know that it's less than a 15 minute walk from campus.

So, I got my library card, so I was able to wander around and actually pick out books to take home, rather than just window shop.  Now, I really like to read.  When I was twelve I went through a phase of reading every Stephen King and Dean Koontz book I could get my hands on, which included all the ones my parents had at home and all the ones at the library, other than ones that really didn't interest me.  And I've never really sopped reading much other than for college, where I just didn't feel like reading much after all the texts and crap I had to read, so during college I read mainly comic strip collection books over and over, and my Johnny the Homicidal Maniac and Squee collections.  Because they rule.

Anyway.  I wound up getting three books: a murder mystery that takes place in an insane asylum, because it looked interesting, a collection of Kafka short stories, because I've been meaning to read The Metamorphosis for no fewer than two years, and that collection of Batman comics, The Greatest Batman Stories Ever Told (btw I know that titles should be underlined or in italics, but I really don't care enough to actually format that), because, of course, it's Batman.  I think I actually meant to buy the book when I saw it or another version in Barnes and Noble, but now I can read it for free and decide if I want to buy it (as if there's any real question).

Now, what strikes me as odd is that the Batman book, along with the other graphic novels, was in the Young Adult section.  I'll admit that I really don't know what "Young Adult" books are about other than the Fear Street books and a couple random others that I've read because I pretty much skipped from kiddie books into adult novels- see above about Stephen King and Dean Koontz.  But considering that Batman is pretty darn dark, and, you know, violent, I really don't understand why it wasn't in some other section.  I know that comics are supposed to be for kids, but from what everyone says about Batman canon online, well, first of all how could a kid keep track of it all if grown ups can't follow the continuity? But it's also very dark and violent and I don't think that that's good reading for kids- Jason died, Babs was paralyzed, Bruce's back was broken, Tim practically watched his father die (maybe he actually did rather than come in after the fact- I don't know)... the Batfamily is a damn mess!  Granted, based on the few very early comics I've read in the collection thus far, Batman wasn't always the King of Angst, ruler of all of those people with ISSUES.  The early ones are pretty tame- Batman doesn't even have a grappling gun, he has some sort of "Silken Rope" that he throws at things like a lasso.  And they spell batarang as baterang, which is just wrong.  And he flies this thing they call a plane, but it has an overhead propeller like a helicopter, and it seems to be able to hover in mid-air, so it can't be a plane.  And the writers seemed to think that vampires could be killed by silver bullets, and only by silver bullets, which is so totally not correct.  And Batman carries a gun to shoot the silver bullets!  That's most wrong of all!

And Bruce seems to have a fiance who doesn't know that Bruce is Batman!  WTF?  How is that relationship possibly going to work, Brucie?  You can't just leave your wife all the time to go fight crime.  You're either going to hurt her terribly or she's going to find out.  Doofus.

And I was flipping through the book before, and the later stories have Robin.  Holy Jesus.  I just can't picture the dangerously sexy Dick Grayson that we've all come to know in current comics wearing the little pixie boots and the hotpants.  I can't even imagine.  What's weird though is that in some frames it looks like Robin's little pants are actually shorts, while in others you can easily visualize the cut of the pants as being over that fleshy area right below the butt.  In some he looks like he's wearing bikini briefs, for crying out loud!  It is, in all honest, quite disturbing.  And is that really the best way to fight crime?  I know that Robin serves often as a means to distract bad guys from what Batman is doing.  And yes, little green bikini briefs on a teen boy will certainly do that.  But I wouldn't want to fight hand-to-hand combat with so much bare skin.  This isn't ancient Greece.  I just.  I can't even analyze this any more or I'm gonna go crazy.

After the library I wandered further down the street, eventually finding myself in one of those Virgin Megastores record shops.  I walked through, just to see what I could see.  They do have a cd I want, The Living End's Single Collection, but it was expensive.  Then I found myself looking at the DVDs of tv shows.  I always check those shelves in case Two Guys, A Girl, and a Pizza Place comes out without me hearing about it, because I loved that show and I want the DVDs of it.  At the end of the TV show shelves was a wall, and on the wall was a group of shelves with Adult Swim stuff on it, like Family Guy collectibles and Space Ghost stuff.  To the right of that, the porn section!  Let's just say I thought it was weird that Adult Swim is apparently a transition to porn for these people.  Granted, the stuff was labeled as "Erotica," but we all know it's porn.  There was also a vending machine thingy of sex toys, I'm not really sure what exactly came out when you put your money in, but I was a little disturbed.

Further down the street is a store that has "Comics" in the name, and yet doesn't sell comics, which was a bit disappointing.  Underneath that was a shop called "Condomworld," so if it wasn't a sex shop it is grossly misnamed.

Then was dinner, because it was [livejournal.com profile] musicalone84's birthday the other day, and a group of us went out to celebrate.  Really good Mexican.  Then, I walked all the way back to school because it was kinda nice out and I wanted to detour briefly through the park.  There were signs up saying you couldn't feed the birds, but that section of the park is called the Duck Pond or something like that, so I don't think it's fair that you can't feed the duckies.  I like ducks- they're cute- and feeding them is a ton of fun.  So I'm upset that I apparently can't feed the ducks.  On the walk I got the most strongest craving for ice cream ever, so I stopped in the CVS and picked up a pint of Ben and Jerry's Half Baked.  Oh.  My.  God.  So good.  Chocolate and vanilla ice cream with chocolate chip cookie dough and chocolate brownie batter... mmmmm *does Homer Simpson drool thing*

Then, I got home and watched my tape of this morning's episode of The Batman.  Last week the tape was pretty crappy because the antenna wasn't coming in well, but I made sure last night as I set up the tape that the picture and audio were the best I could get them at the time, so neither were too bad.  I have class on Thursday nights, so I may actually not be watching Smallville Season 5 if the antenna doesn't work well on Thursdays.  Unless I learn how to download episodes.  We'll see.

Anyway, that was it.  It was an enjoyable day, mostly spent walking around, but I got to do things I've been meaning to do, and hung out with some friends, so it was a good time.

Off to find Dick Grayson fics, with or without the bikini briefs.

[identity profile] herohunter.livejournal.com 2005-09-11 03:25 am (UTC)(link)
Pixie boots!!

*snickers off*

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-09-11 03:40 am (UTC)(link)
Hehe, I mean, have you *seen* these early drawings of Robin? The boots have these long openings, so they kind of flair at the top of the opening on the back of his legs. They just look silly!

[identity profile] herohunter.livejournal.com 2005-09-11 03:41 am (UTC)(link)
*nods* And they say WE turn them gay, lol!!!

:D

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-09-11 03:55 am (UTC)(link)
*snicker* No way, dude. Robin clearly has some issues long before slashers came about. I can't picture Batman looking at Dick's costume and giving him the okay for it. It's too open, awflly flashy for guys who sit in the dark, and it just plain looks silly. It's not even the *color* of robins.

Proof that Tim has brains: he added pants. He still looks kinda queer, but the pants are at least functional and don't make him look like he's trying to pick someone up on a street corner. Or Batman. And, no pixie boots. Then again, I just love Timmy anyway. But I love Dick, too. As Nightwing. His costume is slightly less queer-looking. But considering it looks like it's painted on and it has no cape to cover anything, that's very qualified "slightly."

[identity profile] roxymissrose.livejournal.com 2005-09-11 03:30 am (UTC)(link)
What a lovely day you had! Thank you for sharing!

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-09-11 03:42 am (UTC)(link)
Thanks! It was fun. Good to get out, find Batman, stumble into porn, whatever. I was due for some entertainment outside of my room. :)
ender24: (Default)

[personal profile] ender24 2005-09-11 09:33 am (UTC)(link)
sounds like you had a great day!!
it seemed to be wonderful..Librarys are the best places in the world :)

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-09-11 02:34 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah, it was a good time. And this library is really nice, though the book rooms are all modern, but the architecture and halls and stuff are more old-looking. By the time I got there I didn't have a lot of time to wander around, but I'll definitely be going back. :)
ender24: (Default)

can you go IM??

[personal profile] ender24 2005-09-11 02:36 pm (UTC)(link)
I am currently online!! then we can chat, i am preparing the rec entry for your brex com!

[identity profile] lilitou.livejournal.com 2005-09-11 04:52 pm (UTC)(link)
That is indeed a damn good day.

And... am I a horrible friend for not knowing where you're going to grad school, or have you just never told me? I can't remember. =/

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-09-12 02:29 am (UTC)(link)
It probably never came up. I'm at Emerson College, in the home of the Red. *kicks the Red Sox* I've been by Fenway like 4 times already. Bit I refuse to go in. If you want to visit, we can go spit on the stadium together or something. *hopeful*

And it was a good day. Today was good, too, me and a friend went to see Sound of Thunder, which will not be winning an Oscar any time soon, but it was a fun movie.

[identity profile] lilitou.livejournal.com 2005-09-23 10:53 pm (UTC)(link)
It's only been ten days since you left this comment... I'm not a comment procrastinator at all.... *shifty eyes*

I'd love to visit sometime. As soon as I get some cash. Heh. So... hopefully you'll still be there then, because at this rate, it could be a while. Spitting on Fenway sounds like a good time to me. ;)

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-09-23 11:29 pm (UTC)(link)
There were like a million typos in my comment to you. Sheesh.

But yeah, any time you want to come up, just let me know. It'll be cool. It's really creepy the amount of people there are that wear Red Sox crap. Maybe I just never noticed everyone wearing Yankees stuff in NYC because it wasn't weird to me, but everyone here has Red Sox crap.

It makes me sad. And I feel like an outsider. Which of course I am, but even the dude running our trolley tour around the city was Yankee-bashing. I think I mentioned that before. But if he *hadn't* I would have given him a tip. As it was, no tip.

And don't feel bad about late comments. *shrugs* So many people don't reply at all.