Red Eye
Of course, as soon as I decided how to bring my story where I want it to go this morning, my friend messaged me to know if I wanted to go see Red Eye with him. And of course I did, so I went to the movie and then we went to the park, and then dinner out with my three remaining grandparents, and thus haven't done anything productive all day (other than reconnect with my friend, of course, and I guess teh family togetherness stuff).
Anyway.
Wow. Let me begin by stating that Cillian Murphy is one freaky-looking dude. Yes, that's a technical term. The way he tilts his head just so, the hair, the stubbled look, the eyes that are bluer than any eyes anywhere... Damn. And between this movie and Batman Begins, it's going to take a while for me to see him in anything and not think he's a psycho. As Andy, my friend said, Murphy is gonna have to do like ten romantic comedies to change his image. Which he can do, since he's attractive (too pretty-boy for my taste, like Tom Welling, but he is an attractive man), and he should, to demonstrate that he isn't just suited for roles where his character is a nutjob.
I enjoy Rachel McAdams. I liked her in Mean Girls, and something else I saw her in- not The Notebook, since that's, like, the poster movie for movies I Will Not See. She's doing that Reese Witherspoon thing, it looks like, where her hair is constantly a different color and all the colors look damn good and natural. I'd look crappy with really dark hair, they both look great. And McAdams has done several different types of roles, and she's good in them all. And she's pretty.
The two worked well together in the movie. Overall, I liked the movie, but I thought it was a little short, and could have used a little mre suspense (I mean, it's not like any of us expected Cillian to be triumphant). I thought the character development was good, the plot was not too complicated, there were good small characters, and, unlike so many movies today, it didn't rely on special effects outside of makeup and one explosion, so there was actually a focus on other things.
There are a couple of really good shots, and some really good lines. And a little blonde girl with attitude who was hilarious. My favorite line of the girl's, said while her mother was fussing over her leaving on a flight by herself: "I'm 11, not 9!!" So cute.
It was nice seeing a female character kick ass. She did fall while running, but she was wearing heels, so it can be forgiven. She was clever, and resourceful, and able to take care of herself, all things that rock.
There were other things I wanted to mention, but I can't remember them.
The movie was very enjoyable, especially if you like either actor. Very well done, but not overly done, so it didn't suck. 3-ish stars out of 4.
