quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-08-18 08:38 pm

Potential romance always comes at the worst times...

I think a guy hit on me today. It all started yesterday, when I got moved to a new site (away from the pervert- see previous post). I was standing, doing my job, when one of the new guys I'm working with asked me, "Do you have a boyfriend?"

Now, this was only odd because these construction workers are not teenaged girls, the classification of people who have asked me that question the most in the past.

And, it wasn't even the guy who wanted to know- apparently he was too shy to ask me.

So, today the guy who wanted to know came over to me when he had some down time, and asked me why I don't have a boyfriend. I gave him what I consider the more academic reasons for why I'm single (too focused on school, my friends either don't like girls or were too geeky to say they liked me, things like that).

Of course, I left out the fact that I'm a ginormous nerd *looks down at Batman pajama pants, and pile of old school textbooks*, and also that a lot of people look at me and think I'm a lesbian. I personally don't really understand that one. Heck, my friend- of seven years at the time- described me to her boyfriend as being "butch." I am many, many things, but "butch" is nowhere near one of them. Tomboy yes, butch no. Just because I don't constantly dress to impress and drool over everyone with a penis who walks by doesn't mean I'm a lesbian *looks at computer desktop of collage of hot celebrities, all male* But I digress (and I have no problem with lesbians! I'm just not one).

So anyway, after I went through my somewhat self-deprecating spiel, he told me, "It's not because of you," which I took to mean that everyone else is at fault. Which is so sweet! I don't get that a lot. Or, ever. If only this guy weren't at least 28, and if he didn't smoke (sounding like you have bronchitis all the time due to your smokers' cough is about as far from sexy as you can get), and if I weren't moving in 9 days, perhaps we could start something.

Eh, being single ain't so bad