Sep. 16th, 2006

quiet_tiger: (Default)
Can I just say how much I adore Mike O'Malley, host of Niceklodeon GUTS, Get the Picture, and Jimmy on Yes, Dear?

I adore him. He just has so much energy when he hosts the game shows. He totally draws me into the shows (though even on their own the shows are fun). He has so much enthusiasm on behalf of the kids. And in Yes, Dear, I like how he works with the other members of the cast, actually acting, not just shouting gleefully a lot.

Anyway, I'm thinking of this because our new cable package has Nickelodeon Games and Sports, and my roommates and I have been watching Legends of the Hidden Temple and GUTS like all week. Seriously good TV.

Anyway, yesterday on GUTS, a boy was going through the elastic jungle on the obstacle course. The jungle is basically a cube frame with rubber bands strung throughout it that the kids have to crawl through.

A determined-looking kid went through, and Mike had this to say, all wound up and frantic: "You might as well put a buck-knife in his teeth!!!!!"

Donald and I were practically on the floor laughing. It was the words, and the way he said it.

And now, the kids have a rafting event with a rubber boat and a kayak paddle, and some kid wasn't doing too well. Mike described it as "the water tossing him around like the S.S. Minnow." What makes it funnier is that Mike had to explain that it was a Gilligan's Island joke...

Mike wins.

Conner/Kon

Sep. 16th, 2006 09:56 am
quiet_tiger: (Squeezable)
Is it just me, or do people who approach Kon-El from a Smallville background nearly exclusively refer to him as "Conner" in fics while people from a DC background refer to him as "Kon"?

And if I'm not just imagining this, is it because the people coming from a Smallville angle want to give the characters the semblance (or actual reality) of a family with a kid with a real human name?

I was introduced to the character through DC, meaning Teen Titans stuff, where everyone calls him Kon except Superman (from what I can remember right now). Oh, yeah, Cassie might call him Conner, too. As such, it's a bit foreign to me to refer to him as Conner because even *he* doesn't really think of himself as Conner Kent. He's just Kon.

At least "Conner" is better than just being known as "Superboy."

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags