quiet_tiger (
quiet_tiger) wrote2006-09-16 09:56 am
Conner/Kon
Is it just me, or do people who approach Kon-El from a Smallville background nearly exclusively refer to him as "Conner" in fics while people from a DC background refer to him as "Kon"?
And if I'm not just imagining this, is it because the people coming from a Smallville angle want to give the characters the semblance (or actual reality) of a family with a kid with a real human name?
I was introduced to the character through DC, meaning Teen Titans stuff, where everyone calls him Kon except Superman (from what I can remember right now). Oh, yeah, Cassie might call him Conner, too. As such, it's a bit foreign to me to refer to him as Conner because even *he* doesn't really think of himself as Conner Kent. He's just Kon.
At least "Conner" is better than just being known as "Superboy."
And if I'm not just imagining this, is it because the people coming from a Smallville angle want to give the characters the semblance (or actual reality) of a family with a kid with a real human name?
I was introduced to the character through DC, meaning Teen Titans stuff, where everyone calls him Kon except Superman (from what I can remember right now). Oh, yeah, Cassie might call him Conner, too. As such, it's a bit foreign to me to refer to him as Conner because even *he* doesn't really think of himself as Conner Kent. He's just Kon.
At least "Conner" is better than just being known as "Superboy."

no subject
Conner might be better than 'Superboy', but through like half of his own title he goes by "Conal" (which is why Conner pisses me off even more).
*resists urge to rant*
no subject
no subject
*kills on DC for this Connor Kent bullshit, KAL had already taken care of that!*
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
(and then I go and write an AU where he's "Con" and mess it up even more, hahaha!)
no subject
And hey, AUs are a separate thing, especially yours where he's still got the Titans as such and makes out with Timmy. It's a good blend. It's just so weird reading stories where other than the name and parentage, the kid has nothing in common with the Kon I know and love.
no subject
*I need to go nab some Teen Titans the next time I'm at Hastings.
no subject
And yes, pick up some TT trades. They are good stuff until DC screws them over.
no subject
DC is horrible for that. Geez.
no subject
But the reason why Kon thinks of himelf as Kon is because he had that name for like, two years before any other. He got used to it. Just like Dick Grayson got used to being called Dick; you think he wouldn't have tried to switch his nickname to Rick or something? :D
no subject
I'm not sure if I'd rather have it the way it is, or have SV writers make up their own kid character. Probably the latter. If they're gonna use the name, I think I'd like the character to be more like the one I've come to know and love.
And yeah, Kon was Kon long before he was Conner. I think "Dick" fits well enough for Mr. Grayson. Rick or Richard just don't have the same ring for the character.