quiet_tiger: (Batman)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2006-12-02 03:16 pm

*PIMP*

[livejournal.com profile] worlds_finest

...because Batman and Superman just might as well be married.

Though, seriously, a good group of people, a very active community, and all the Batman/Superman (or Superman/Batman) you could want!

Did I mention scans?

[livejournal.com profile] worlds_finest, for when you want your "subtext" a little more dominant.

/public address.

But, seriously, go check it out if you're in a related fandom and you haven't yet.

[identity profile] arch-schatten.livejournal.com 2006-12-02 08:38 pm (UTC)(link)
LOL, it might be the fever, but *domtext*?? That's the best word in the story of EVER. XD

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 04:24 am (UTC)(link)
Hahaha, maybe I coined a new term! =P

[identity profile] tmelange.livejournal.com 2006-12-02 10:16 pm (UTC)(link)
See, this is why I love you. :beams:

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 04:32 am (UTC)(link)
Hehe, well, you asked all nicely, and right now anything DC-related that reminds me that not all fandom is insane (Smallville is in an uproar right now, or was still when I left for work, anyway) makes me happy.

And besides, Supes/Bats is the most obvious subtextual pairing in a book there is outside of Joker/Batman and Tim/Kon, in my extremely humble opinion.

And y'all are really nice and friendly.

[identity profile] tmelange.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 05:49 am (UTC)(link)
The Smallville fandom is on crack. It's like a Macy's window display. Just sit back with your popcorn...

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 05:57 am (UTC)(link)
I'd always sort of known SV fandom was on crack, and certainly was introduced to all the politics once I got my journal and met new people, but this... the past few days have been insane. I've never seen such hate and negativity outside of my dad being royally pissed at something. People who up until five days ago were friends with the people in question have just completely written them off, and that's a nice way of putting what was said. I'm sure I'd find it more entertaining if one of them wasn't my oldest lj friend...

As it is, I lack popcorn, but I've been finishing up the Halloween candy I still have.

[identity profile] tmelange.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 06:05 am (UTC)(link)
It amazes me how people get so up in arms, trying to prove one thing or another, when, really, you can't prove anything at all, and people will do what they will do, and it's best to just believe, or not, based on your personal experience with the people in question...

All you can say, really, is if the woman in question is injured, send her your well wishes and prayers; if there is some other thing going on--well, who does it really impact? Sane people don't send people they don't know well money or other things they can't afford to part with. What's the real use of burning someone at the stake in cyberspace?

This is why I tell everyone not to be too free with the personal business on journal. Virtual friends are not exactly like real friends...

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 06:20 am (UTC)(link)
There isn't really any way to prove anything here. Even if svmaria comes back, well, there isn't anything she can do to make people not hate her, guilty or not. I don't know Maria well enough to make any sort of judgment, though the circumstantial evidence and the way the situation mirrors similar situations does not look good.

What kills me is people bashing either Maria or Ash just for who they are, without knowing either of them (like someone criticizing that Ash uses big font in her journal- who the heck cares?!).

Dude, some people were sending dvds and stuff from that Wish List. Crazy stuff. I wish I could send money to virtual strangers (pun!).

"What's the real use of burning someone at the stake in cyberspace?"

People get on their high horses. They can be all, "Oh, I predicted that." Or something. But the things people are saying are just awful, particularly the Fandom Wank people who know nothing about any person in question.

Some people are wicked open with personal info! Pictures of themselves, their real names... I always think I'm being too paranoid, but then stuff like this happens to remind you how vulnerable you can be.

[identity profile] tmelange.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 06:36 am (UTC)(link)
Never ever ever be too free with your information, even to people you talk to regularly and may email off-journal. One day, someone you think you know can just flip a switch. I've personally seen instances where people have called or emailed another person's employer and done all kinds of terrible things, just over a falling out. You have to keep in mind that the involvement in a "slash fandom" is not something the average person/employer/family member would think of as rational or acceptable, even if you are a very free and open person. Slashdom is still a fringe activity, and as such, should remain far removed from RL...

>>People get on their high horses.

A truer thing has never been said. There are harpies flying around fandom, people who think they've been around forever or who think they are the "queen" of something or other. These harpies migrate from hot spot to hot spot. Smallville has really been the last big television fandom to come out that has a real strong central slash dynamic. There has been a lack of a follow up show that has enough of a central slash dynamic to make the harpies move on. So they are sitting in the SV fandom, in a holding pattern, sharpening their claws and becoming restless. I'm surprised more stuff like this doesn't come up, really.

That's why the DC fandoms are so pleasant. They are basically populated by younger people or people who are more easy going because of the lack of infrastructure and bulk in the fandom...

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 07:09 am (UTC)(link)
I only talk to a couple of people outside of livejournal, on AIM, and not regularly (I don't even talk to RL friends regularly anymore). Believe me, after this I barely even want to talk about my real life anymore. I also don't really want to associate with Smallville...

Only a handful of RL people know about my journal, and only those that have a journal of their own. Others know I *have* one, but they don't know the name.

Supernatural would have taken SV's place in slashiness if the guys in it weren't brothers. There's House/Wilson, but that seems to have a totally different sort of fanbase (but I don't poke around there enough to know anything about it).

It's not even the suspecting part of it (things do look pretty suspicious), just the way people are behaving. Totally not necessary. Maybe something new will come up elsewhere and things can get resolved in SV with minimal bloodshed.

There are definitely fewer politics and things in DC, from what I can tell. People seem to do their own thing. Yeah, there are the people who run things, and the really popular writers, but because there are so many pairings and books to choose from there isn't any sort of centralization. It's definitely a different world, and a welcome one at that.

[identity profile] tmelange.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 03:34 pm (UTC)(link)
>>Supernatural would have taken SV's place in slashiness if the guys in it weren't brothers.

Oh, absolutely. I keep hoping for some big reveal where the two of them are not really related...but I'm not sure that will satisfy my squick... LOL

>>There's House/Wilson, but that seems to have a totally different sort of fanbase

House doesn't have quite the right dynamic, and neither actor is traditionally good-looking in the slash sense. In order for the slash to take off, you need at least one hotboy. LOL

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 04:09 pm (UTC)(link)
"I keep hoping for some big reveal where the two of them are not really related"

Can you *imagine* the flood of porny stories about that? They'd be all, "Well, Dean, I was attracted to you, but we couldn't..." "Yeah, [other guy's name], I had these feelings, but I thought they were wrong..." And then they'd boink to express their new feelings for each other.

The problem with House may be partly that the writers make Wilson a villain a lot, particularly at the beginning of this season. It's tough to want to slash a sexy doctor with his friend when his friend is being an ass. And that doesn't even take *House* into consideration. House is sexy, but yeah, they're both a little bit too old. There's a lot of House/Chase though, which I don't read; Chase is kinda cute (but, again, he's a jerk).

[identity profile] tmelange.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 07:48 pm (UTC)(link)
I liked House/Chase during the first half of the first season, before they developed how much of an ass Chase truly is... LOL

As for House/Wilson -- I think they're cute, but I could never go gaga over them from a slash standpoint because in order for me to slash a couple, I personally have to see myself wanting one of the guys. Slash is wish fulfillment for me in a way. I would never date a jerk like House, and Wilson is too...I just wouldn't do Wilson. His personality doesn't appeal. I couldn't find anything to relate to in that pairing to write...

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-12-03 08:06 pm (UTC)(link)
Yeah, I used to really like Chase, and then the Vogler thing happened. He hasn't done enough to redeem himself.

I don't read House/Wilson often, usually only when I want a little real-person fic (as opposed to guys with super powers or deep psychological trauma). In general I have a tough time getting into it, either because the guys aren't guys I can see myself with, or because the characterizations are tough to get right by fic writers.

And then Psych totally veered away from the pairing I liked, which sucks.

It's why I come back to DC, because there's almost always a pairing to suit my mood. Now it's just tough finding stuff I haven't read. ..and, you know, hot guys in spandex. Nothin' wrong with that.