quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-08-06 02:06 am

You know the drill, various topics be within this post, arrrrr

(okay, a pirate accent isn't part of the usual drill, but I've been awake for nineteen hours, more than that, and worked for 8 and a half of those, and killed six hours in the mall afterwards, so I'm a little brain-fried)

 

Why was in the mall for so long?  Because I work relatively near the IMAX theater where I wanted to see Batman Begins on the IMAX screen, and I didn't feel like driving the 35 minutes home, only to drive the fifty back to the theater a few hours later.  So, I got to the mall at around 4 and had to kill time until 10:30, when the movie began (yeah, since it's the last weekend it's only at 10:30.  Damn sadists.).

So, I brought some books to read, and read them a little, and then wandered around the mall.  It *was* the mall afterall.

I love Target.  I could walk through there for a long time.  Half the store didn't even seem to be together, and a whole corner was empty, but there was still a lot to look at.

While walking through the house-beautification section, I happened to check out the colors of the towels.  Want a good laugh?  Read the color names outloud.  Holy crap, they're hilarious.  I can't think of what they were at this moment, but they were pretty funny.  There were like 3 shades of grey that were being called other colors, mute, or calm, or something like that violet and blue.

Marvel really has some freakin' awesome marketing people.  Marvel has what, one lone individual superhero (Spider-man)?  I'm not counting groups, like the Fantastic Four or the X-Men, just single vigilantes.  Vigilante.  And yet, Spider-man toys, etc are all over!  Spider-man is printed on what seems like everything you could possibly slap his picture onto or mold him into.

And yet, DC has several great, known heroes who typically work alone, including but not limited to Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman.  And yet, relatively nothing, and without Batman Begins having come out this summer, much less because a lot of it is specifically Batman Begins merchandise.

My mom loves Penney's.  I like it, too.  Plenty of things to look at.

While in department stores, I tend to gravitate towards the little boys clothing section, because there is usually nifty stuff there (and in Target you can catch some great clearance sales).  While checking out the t-shirts, I realized that several have little toys that come with the shirt, such as a Hot Wheels batmobile that comes with a Batman shirt, some sort of mini spy kit that comes with some sort of spy shirt, and one shirt even came with a tiny remote controlled car!! How cool is that?!  And how unfair is it that girls' shirts will never ever come out with anything that cool?!  I was pretty pissed.  And I don't think I can fit into a boys' large shirt, so I probably can't ever take advantage.  Grr.  The tomboy within me isn't pleased (I'd still consider myself a tomboy if I didn't own as many corsets as I do and happily wear them to parties).

I also learned tonight that I can find bras my size in the girls' section of Penney's.  So, between being able to fit into little boys' pants (the husky size) and girls' undergarments, I can save a ton of money on clothing.  Won't help me attract boys, but that's okay.  Better to dress and be comfortable than dress like a whore (not to say that those extremes are the only possibilities, but that's a lot of what I see).

There are Batman pillowcases that are really cool looking, and I'm gonna pick me up a set before I move.  I think the full sheet set would be a bit much, even if it could fit on my futon.

Oh.  My.  God.  The movie was even better this third time, maybe because it was the third time I've seen it, or maybe because it was on the IMAX screen.

This is going to sound stupid, but Christian Bale is a very attractive man.  Not that I didn't realize that before, and maybe it's because his face was often 25 feet tall, but I found myself really admiring him.  He does great things with his voice while acting, as well.

Again, I was one of the few people laughing at the funny lines.  I mean, I know it's not a comedy, but there is still some very funny dialogue!

Apparently Gotham is its own state: all the cars have license plates that just read "Gotham." Cute, but it doesn't make any sense. They could have just cropped the plates out of all the shots with cars in them.

My only complaint about the IMAX format is that it made the fight scenes, which I have already mentioned I wasn't impressed with, even more difficult to decipher.

Cillian Murphy: wow.  I really liked him this time around as well.  Don't know why.  Maybe his features' resemblance to those of Tom Welling really stood out (cheek bones, thick dark hair, sparkling blue eyes, full lips).  And I'm really looking forward to seeing him in Red Eye with Rachel McAdams; that looks so good.  but between that and Flight Plan, I may never fly again.

You know what still bothers me?  Alfred's age.  Alfred doesn't appear to age at all during the movie, even though the story is told with flashbacks from 20 years before.  I don't know if the Waynes would have felt comfortable leaving young Bruce with someone old, who might not live much longer himself.  I have no idea how old Alfred is supposed to be in the comics, maybe that would explain it.

The music really stood out to me again.  Even though it's not Danny Elfman, it's good.

You know, I apparently have no idea how the theme from the Superman movies goes after about maybe the first two pages of the sheet music.  I've been bursting into humming it lately, but after a short while I wind up humming the less dramatic part of the theme from Star Wars.  Even after waiting on line for the Superman roller coaster and having the theme played over and over wasn't enough to put it in my head.  Must be because both scores were written by John Williams, and I guess aren't distinctive enough for me like Jaws and Indiana Jones are.

Tired.  That's it for now.

[identity profile] lilitou.livejournal.com 2005-08-06 04:41 pm (UTC)(link)
Christian Bale is gorgeous, and Cillian Murphy's not bad either. I still haven't seen that movie, sadly. I wanted to, but my older brother saw it without me and my little brother didn't want to go. Very sad.

Also, I have decided that Alfred is actually immortal.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-08-06 05:19 pm (UTC)(link)
You totally have to go see it, dude. Hell, I'll drive down there and take you. I really wouldn't have a problem with that. And your brothers are silly.

Alfred being immortal, hmm? That actually could work quite nicely.

And about Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, I couldn't understand why it was all about Daddy Issues, either. We don't need to know who Wonka is and what makes him tick, he just is. Not everyone needs to have issues with their parents.

And they never explained why when Wonka went to the Oompa Loompa village he was flesh colored, and now his skin is white. I was bothered by the Michael Jackson images brought to mind. And as someone else pointed out, dark skin to white, and lures children into his magical factory...