quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-08-04 08:44 pm

You know those shirts, "I see dumb people"?

So, I'm in the big mall today, the one with the IMAX theater, because I went to get [livejournal.com profile] monkeyputz something for her birthday. I happened to enter through the entrance by the IMAX theater, and of course my eye was drawn to the Batman Begins poster, as my eyes are wont to focus on anything Batman-related.

I went to the ticket counter to see how much longer it would be playing. The poster behind the ticket people said "Final Week," but of course I wanted to be sure of the day. So, I asked them. After two tries of trying to turn the mic on, and then actually speak into it so I could actually hear them, the two girls pointed to the poster, and said that this is the final week.

Barely refraining from rolling my eyes, I asked, "What day does that end?" in case it was today, which would suck for me. After a second's consideration, the one girl said tomorrow, which is slightly better for me. Then the two girls said something else to me, but again they weren't speaking anywhere near the microphone, so I couldn't hear them. Then one of them checked the computer, and said that it ends Sunday, which means I have to see it tomorrow anyway, since I have plans all weekend (I know, I've been a busy little beaver lately).

Their responses weren't so much what bothered me as the way they were given: as if I were asking the most asinine question in the entire world, as if I was deficient for not knowing that "final week" meant that it ended on Sunday. God forbid I clarify anything. Grr.

And, my boss at work is an idiot, and a prick according to the regular crew guys. He's a total jerk who expects us to read minds. Usually we work 7am-5pm, with Fridays off (understand now why my mood is always "tired" when I post in this thing?), and today as we were getting our timecards signed, I asked my usual: "See you Monday?" And my boss replied, "we're working tomorrow, same times." Nice of him to give us a little warning. You know, all 30 seconds of it. Really freaking good thing I didn't have anything planned for tomorrow other than finishing reading [livejournal.com profile] laceymcbain's SIX, so now I'll just have to read that in pieces over the weekend.

This boss wasn't even giving us morning breaks (Tuesday I stood in the sun for five and half hours- I thought I was gonna die) until I went over his head and asked for what was ours. Then he gave me and my partner breaks the past two days, allbeit horribly begrudgingly. God forbid I not be your slave. In Tuesday's heat, on the pavement, for five and a half hours... I just wasn't going to take that. That's inhumanly cruel. I've thought he was a sadist the past three weeks, now I know for sure. Prick.

Oh, so anyway, tomorrow night I'm gonna see Batman Begins in the IMAX theater, and it'll probably rock like nothing else. Even if I'll be sitting there tired and sweaty.