Thoughts and Updates
So, is the acting on Seventh Heaven really that forced, or is the writing really that bad? Is moralistic fluff that hard to write? I've never tried. And the whole baby-in-the-elevator thing: could anything be any more cliched? I don't normally watch the show, but sometimes I'll put it on if nothing else is on (when I originally started doing that it was to watch Barry Watson to check his acting against Dave in Sorority Boys). Maybe it's that the storylines are so... I duneven know, they drag a few minutes worth of a story out for a whole hour. I like the girl who plays Ruthie, though.
I quit that sales job today!! Yeah, I could have used the extra money each week, but it wasn't worth the hassle with the people from Vector. Calling them constantly, driving over to the office, dealing with them and their overly positive attitude... ick. So, I just told half the truth, that with working full time during the day, and my busy weekend schedule the next few weeks (cousin's baby shower,
monekyputz's birthday shenanigans the week after, a special "cousins" party thrown by my grandmother's first cousin the week after that, and then I'm getting into time I need to get ready to go back to school), I really don't have time for the crap we have to do that we don't get paid for. So, good riddance. *freedom*
Special tip for any drivers: THE TURN SIGNALS ARE NOT "OPTIONAL." NOR ARE THEY ORNAMENTAL. They are there for a reason, please use them properly, especially when turning near a construction site, so the people directing traffic can do their jobs without a) fearing for their lives and b) undue stress.
And wow, right now I'm watching an ep of Whose Line? I haven't been able to watch the show in weeks. I <3 Colin and Ryan. :)
And a couple notes on The Island, that movie I've been waiting to see for months.
Wow, either Michael Bay or the writer has seen Logan's Run one too many times, because the first half might as well have been a remake. And I'm tired of the sci-fi cliche of a desired "lottery" where the "winner" gets killed. It's not longer a surprise, people.
Other than the clear similarities to Logan's Run (which was not a great movie in its own right), the movie had some really great parts, and some pretty stupid ones. Steve Buscemi was good, but his part wasn't, and it was great to see Ethan Phillips in something again (he was Neelix on Star Trek: Voyager. I told you I'm a geek). I've never seen Ewan Macgregor in anything, so it was good to see what all the hubbub was about surrounding him. Special effects and stuff were good, the first movie I've seen all summer where stuff wasn't clearly CGI.
And I thought that Tom Lincoln had a very realistic reaction to seeing his "insurance policy" running around. He needed that policy. It's good there wasn't some cheesy partnership between them. Funny, though, that the only clones whose names we learn are last names that can pretty easily be first names as well. No "Walinowski 6 Echo" or anything like that.
I think that's it for that, maybe I'll come up with something more later. :)
