quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2006-08-06 08:31 pm

?

What is with people at the ffn sites putting Author's Notes in the middle of their fics? Don't people realize how jarring and unnecessary that is?

[identity profile] ladydreamer.livejournal.com 2006-08-07 02:59 am (UTC)(link)
These kids are fucking obnoxious. I remember back in the day of Digimon fandom, somone posted an author's note in between sentences. It was like AN: Peach Milkshake! Yum!

--;;

THAT IS IN NO WAY NECESSARY.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-08-07 03:22 am (UTC)(link)
LOL.

In the one I was reading, there was a line of dialogue, and then the author put in a paragraph about where she got the line from. And I was like, "who fucking cares?" If you have something to say, do it before the story or after it.

I don't understand why SV and DC fandom is so damn good, and like all others are just CRAP. Not that there aren't little gems out there, but geez. There's this on Danny Phantom fic I read (and you've seen some sparkling examples from *that* fandom that I've pointed out) where the author would put asterisks to tell people to check the footnote at the bottom of the page, where she then explained each one. And it was like stupid stuff, not cool stuff.

I don't *get* it.
ender24: (Default)

[personal profile] ender24 2006-08-13 05:29 pm (UTC)(link)
woahh, be careful, and be glad you said that in your LJ , coz such a statement //I don't understand why SV and DC fandom is so damn good, and like all others are just CRAP// is getting you killed fast than you can imagine *g*
(imagine the seize/numbers of fen in e.g. SGA fandom....)

what the hell are you reading anyway?!?!
and why did you stray away from SV and DC?!

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2006-08-13 05:55 pm (UTC)(link)
I don't watch SG, so I don't read fic from it. But since a lot of writers I do know watch and write for it, that's probably good, too.

But outside of SV, DC, SGA/SG SG1, and maybe Buffy/Angel and HP, fic just isn't *good*. It's poorly written in general, or makes no sense based on the characters. And obviously I can't say anything about stuff I haven't read

I was just looking for other stuff to read, see what was out there. Danny Phantom, Malcolm in the Middle, Invader Zim, I dunno, just stuff, I can't remember it all.