quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-07-12 07:37 pm

Just what have I been doing with my time...?

Saturday was a really fun day. My mom and I went out, and we saw Dark Water, Batman Begins (again) and we went to the mall and out for dinner. (My dad was away for the weekend).


Dark Water *SPOILERS*

I've been looking forward to seeing Dark Water for months, ever since we saw the first preview for it when we saw Hostage.  It didn't quite live up to expectations.  Like so many movies today, it seemed like a lot was left out.  Of course, movies are cut down to an hour and a half so they can be shown more times during the day, which makes more money for the distribution company.  But, so many are chopped up to the point where they don't make sense, such as the remake of The Stepford Wives and Boogeyman, which isn't to say that these would have been cinematic masterpieces as the director's cut, but I walked away from all three movies with major questions.

*Spoilers* Dark Water had a very interesting concept, as we all know because the very most basic plot was exactly like The Ring: little brunette girl left to drown.  Throw that in with the Mommy issues that plagued the whole film, and comparisons could not not be made.  I'm tired of seeing little brunette girls drowning and then haunting people.  Either drown some boys, or drown some little blondes or red heads (I'm horrible, I know).

What was with the whole thing with the main character's issues with her mother?  I mean, I understood it, that she was tortured psychologically by being abandoned, but really, what did it have to do with the rest of the film, the water-girl-shitty apartment parts of the film?  I suppose you could argue that the little drowned girl's relationship with her mother mirrors that storyline, or Jennifer Connelly's character trying to be there for her daughter, but overall it just seemed to drag down the movie because it didn't seem directly related to what was happening.  They could have developed the rest of the plot a little more.  Either develop the mother-daughter aspect more, or the haunted apartment building more.

Speaking of that apartment building, how disgusting was it!?!?  I can't believe she agreed to live there.  Uck.  It was small even for one person, let alone a woman and her daughter.  That laundry area was just horrid.

My mom raised a good point throughout the film and afterwards: it seemed almost as if the audience was supposed to believe that no one else lived in the building.  We rarely saw anyone, and most of the time Jennifer did see somone, she was alone.  Other than the landlord guy and the creepy super guy.  It really was hard to believe at first, knowing that the movie was a horror movie, that all of the people actually existed.  Combined with the Mommy issues already established, it's a good argument for her creating everything in her head, rather than there actually being an evil force.  What I questioned was the purpose of the nice guy she bumped into in the elevator.  I was sure we were going to see him again, for good or bad, but that was it.  If they were editing for time, they really could have cut that whole scene out.

There was just so much thrown in to confuse the audience: creepy landlord Man, spooky super guy, the ex-husband who may or may not be messing with her, the suspicious as hell lawyer (he clearly worked out of his car... was that necessary at all?), the backpack, and of course the disgusting dark water (I really wanted to gag a lot of that.  ickkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk).

So, it was an okay movie, it had some scary moments, it just could have been less muddled.  You know, pick a story and stick with it, rather than pick and choose little plot elements of various plots.

Batman Begins *Spoilers, of course*

Damn.  The film was even better the second time, because rather than spend so much time focusing on plot, we were able to focus more on characters and things like that.  And the plot made more sense, too (I know, only I could get confused over a superhero movie).  I still wish that Scarecrow had been worked in more.  And his last scene, getting Tasered and running away on the horse could really have been done better or more concretely.  I was really able to appreciate more the role Lucius Fox played, and was able to figure Ra's out a little bit better.  It still hurt when Wayne Manor went up in flames.  And I really was almost able to ignore the fake romance between Bruce and Rachel.  Christian Bale has brown eyes, correct?  I guess I always pictured Bruce with blue eyes.  I suppose it doesn't matter.

Two more nitpicks: Bruce needs to put some work into concealing the road entrance to the cave a little better.  The road outside that waterfall clearly leads to somewhere.  Also, I suppose this isn't really a nitpick, just an observation: Bob Kane originally created Batman in like the '30s, or something.  Just how exactly did he come up with the ideas for what Batman can accomplish?  Was Batman really just a dude in Spandex who got really, really lucky? (no comment from you Bruce/Dick fans)  I mean, now Batman has spiffy military body armor, electric-current activated fabric for his cape, etc, etc, God knows what his nifty batarangs were made out of, and that's great for now, reinventing the hero, etc, I'm just curious as to what Kane had in mind.

Overall, such a fun movie.  I can't wait to get the DVD to see what was cut out.


Batman junk

Also while out, we stumbled across black Batman-logo pajama pants, so of course I picked up a pair.  I've been looking for boxer shorts, but I can never find them.  Apparently guys only want Spider-Man covering their package.  But, I was successful to some extent.  I've worn my pants every chance since Saturday.  But it's been kind of hot.  I also got a new pair of Batman socks, because they were there, and my old pair is getting really worn and kind of gross.  I'm only confused as to which incarnation of Batman it is on the socks.  The tag claims it's from the new cartoon, but the drawing is totally not him.  It's not Justice League Batman, so it either leaves a direct Warner Bros. drawing, or maybe the Animated Series Batman.  Whatever, I'm looking at this too deeply, I'm just gonna enjoy my socks.  I think my dad is a little weirded out about all the Batman stuff I've collected, but I rarely buy anything expensive.  The pants were 50% off, and the socks were 2 bucks.  And my mom paid, anyway.  It's better than spending all my money on something totally worthless, it's all clothing, after all.

Speaking of Batman the new cartoon, it got moved to 8:30 on Saturday morning.  8:30!!  I'm 22, I'm never up at 8:30 on a Saturday, and if I am it means I'm too busy to watch it.  And while I love the show, I'm not waking up that early.  So, I'll just have to tape it all the time.  I usually do anyway, but now I *have* to.  Grr.  Oh well.  At least it's still on, and it's in new eps.


Newer Job

So, today and for the next two days, I'm back to flagging, meaning I'm directing traffic around construction vehicles.  It's not difficult work, but it is taxing because you do have to pay attention or you can cause an accident, and you have to stand all day.

The hardest part of this new assignment is that the hours are from 7am-5pm, and it's a 45-minute drive.  But, the pay is pretty good, which makes it worth it.  I just have to be sure to drink more water tonight and tomorrow morning so I don't almost pass out again like I did this morning.

The new location is tough because the people in the area don't stop sometimes.  Literally, they just blow by our stop signs, into oncoming traffic.  It is a bit scary.

The guys I'm working with seem nice, but they're construction guys.  So, I'm standing there, long blonde hair and no penis, and I couldn't help but think of myself as Construction Worker Barbie.  Though my dimensions are no where near hers, and I like to think I'm a bit deeper, and I rarely wear makeup.  The guy I'm paired with seems a little slow, and the other guys yell at him a lot, which reminds of jocks picking on kids in high school, which isn't cool.  They seemed to like me okay.  I just feel very small and feminine, which isn't necessarily bad.


Dick/Tim

I love batfic Dick/Tim.  Love it.  Hell, I love most things with either of them in it, so together, it's just great.  They really do share a bond that no one else does, even if that bond is brought on by the hell that Bruce/Batman puts them through.

Please, if you haven't seen it yet and you're a fan, check out [livejournal.com profile] petronelle's essay on the subject of Robin and how Dick and Tim are united under that banner.

[Unknown site tag]

[livejournal.com profile] batfic, written by [livejournal.com profile] marag, Change is the Only Constant.  It's a Batman/House crossover, and it's a lot of fun.  Not only is it a good drama with good characterizations, it's funny as hell in the way it pokes fun at the show House.

Well, I think that's all I have to say for now, if something else comes up, I'll be sure to mention it.  :)

[identity profile] roxymissrose.livejournal.com 2005-07-13 01:04 am (UTC)(link)
Cartoon Network is supposed to be showing new eps of The Batman on Saturday night.

[identity profile] quiet--tiger.livejournal.com 2005-07-13 01:17 am (UTC)(link)
I know they show reruns of the older new eps at 8:30, but I don't think they yet show brand new eps. But believe me, I watch the older eps whenever I can. ;)

And actually, thanks for the reminder, I've been so busy or just mentally elsewhere the last... like month and a half of Saturdays that I haven't even thought about watching Batman or the Justice League, which is quite unfortunate. I'll have to try to remember to pay attention to what eps are on this Saturday night. Thanks. :)