quiet_tiger: (Default)
quiet_tiger ([personal profile] quiet_tiger) wrote2005-07-06 10:49 pm

Hey, look, an update...

Howdy, folks. This past weekend I checked out where I'm going to live and go to school next semester, which is why I wasn't around and haven't been commenting much. It's a cozy living situation with an easy commute, and I got thrilled looking at the school I'll be at, which is a really great sign. I'm really excited. Nervous as hell about the whole finding a job so I can pay rent thing, but people keep telling me not to worry, so I'm not gonna. Yet.

Been trying to make some money the last couple of days; I've worked 19 hours in the last two days to make up for missing the weekend and then the cash I spent there. I was back at that packaging plant yesterday, and today I actually helped direct traffic. You know when a construction crew or electrical people are working on the side of the road, and there are those people using stop and slow signs to direct the traffic around the truck? That was me today. Union job, so the actual workers took a bunch of breaks, so we got to, too, and there was a nice breeze in the afternoon so it wasn't too hot. It's not a glamourous job (totally forgot how to spell "glamour" there, btw, and I still think I got it wrong), but it's fascinating to do all these different odd jobs and see how different people live and how they make their living. It gives me a chance to be Joe Schmo, rather than Magna Cum Laude book smart girl whom people are often afraid of (I get that a lot. People fear me. I think it's something to do with my eyes).

The rest of the time was spent at the sales job. After the team meeting last week I realized that people aren't working nearly as hard as they could or should be at it, so I'm not going to feel bad about only making one or two appointments a day. So, I'm going to work on scheduling those at night, and that way I can keep my days open for temp jobs. The temp jobs aren't great pay, but unlike with the sales job I'm guaranteed X-amount of dollars for the day, rather than making anywhere between 30 and 150. The sales thing just isn't consistent enough. And this way I don't feel like I'm wasting my time.

And Friday my dad's going to have my car, so I can't schedule anything for that day! So, Friday I'm going to work on rebuilding my computer, provided I get it back tomorrow *crosses fingers*, I'm gonna get the blood drawn that I need drawn, and I'm going to hand in my construction uniform (I got a hard hat and a vest and the stop sign/slow sign thing). And I have a sales appointment for that night, so it's not like I'm totally slacking off. After the three crazy days between yesterday, today, and tomorrow, I'm gonna need a little down time, even though I'll be working on one thing or another most of the day. And then watching the rest of Season 2 of Wildboyz with my buddy who is the only person I know other than my dad who thinks that Wildboyz is hilarious.

Um... what else...

Last night's House, as usual, was great. I'd seen that one before, but it's fun rewatching it and seeing things I either missed or just wasn't looking for the first time. I love House's explanation for Gabe's rash: "He's 12. He's on autostroke." And gotta love the House/Wilson (though I really just love Wilson as well; he is such a great character). Never before has "double entry bookkeeping" sounded quite so dirty.

My sales appointments tonight were with women my mom works with, both of whom have known me since I was born, and I actually had a good time just hanging out with them for a bit. With the one we talked about tv and editing and stuff like that, and she watches and loves Nip/Tuck just like my mom and I do, and it was great talking about it with someone new. Nip/Tuck is a great show, and it needs to come back! What is this stupid September crap?!?! I need my summer fix *pouts*.

And, this doesn't apply to anyone on my friends list nor anyone I read regularly, but, IF YOU DON'T KNOW ENLGISH GRAMMAR, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, PLEASE HAVE SOMEONE ELSE READ IT OVER FOR YOU. I just read something where tenses were thrown together, different types of verbs were mixed (parallel structure, please), and just all kinds of things that grated on me had been overlooked. An occasional typo, spelling error, grammar error, whatever, is fine, God knows I screw up a lot while typing (part of the reason I put together my site, so I could fix errors I caught on other read-throughs, where I screwed up verb tense or spelled something wrong or left out a word, which happens all the time and I don't always pick it up). And even less formal journal entries are fine with errors. But stuff with a lot of errors is just plain difficult to read. And I know not everyone is great at school, or great at grammar. Frankly a lot of grammar rules suck and make no sense. But others are there for a reason, to make language easy to understand. This small rant is not directed at anyone in particular. And I know I'm not perfect and that I should have a beta for my stuff; I'm just as flawed as the next person. But I like to think that people can read what I write most of the time without having to reread a sentence and add in or delete words. Plot is another story, I'm not always the best at plots. PWPs are my friends. :)