Jul. 18th, 2005

Stuff

Jul. 18th, 2005 08:35 pm
quiet_tiger: (Default)

A couple more points on Charlie and the Chocolate Factory )

I was in such a good mood when I got home tonight.  I really like the flagging job, even though sometimes it sucks.  Today was sunny most of the time, except for the morning, so I didn't put sunscreen on until lunch, but it was too late and I have a nice pink patch on my upper right arm, just sitting there looking all pink and feeling all itchy and hot.  But I have a good time at the job.  Today I killed some of the time by singing in my head songs from Buffy's "Once More, With Feeling," and I also spent a half hour trying to remember the lyrics to Adam Sandler's Hanukah song.  I know all the words to it, but I haven't listened to it in a while and I apparently no longer remember which stanza goes where.  Oh, well.

Also, when I got home, I was given my mail, which had three great things in it.  Most important was a postcard from my friend who is doing geology field work in Iceland!  I totally wasn't expecting anything, and she sent one with a really nice picture and some neat stuff about the experience on the back.  Like, she's near where the Mid-Atlantic Ridge rises out of the water.  How cool is that, seeing the Mid-Atlantic Ridge?!?! *hears crickets chirping* Okay, so *I* think it's cool.  It was just really great hearing from her.  Totally made my day.

Also, there was a paycheck from the sales job, and money is always good.  Also, we had some sort of credit at my school, so they sent me a check for 89 dollars.  The envelope was addressed to my parents, but the check to me.  *shrugs* I'll take what little I can get.

Overall, I just had a good day, rising at 5:30 notwithstanding.  I think that maybe it has something to do with body chemistry.  It's gruelling standing there, but after a while, it gets kind of easy.  Hot, but not painful.  Kind of like breaking an athletic wall, I bet.  Man, breaking your wall is like the greatest feeling ever; you just feel totally invincible.  But as the afternoon winds down, it just gets easier to stand there.  And, of course, I can look forward to going home.  I don't even mind the 45-minute drive, because I can just be free and take the highway.  Of course, it's the interstate at rush hour so it's not like wide open territory, but it's still a great feeling.

Friday I deposited some pay checks, and I went to Barnes and Noble to finish up a gift certificate.  Of course, I wound up spending three times as much after the card was used up, but since it was for Batman graphic novels by Jeph Loeb and Tim Sale, it was totally worth it.  I was never really into actual comic books much because I had trouble following the ones I did have, but these are easier.  And Alfred it hilarious.  (In case you're interested, I have Haunted Knight, The Long Halloween, and Dark Victory-which I have yet to read).  It's good stuff.

Have you ever turned on an episode of a show you like, and it's a clip show and you didn't know it?  I put on Friends before, but it was halfway through the episode, and I didn't know it was a clip show.  So, when Chandler gained 30 pounds from scene to scene, and Rachel and Ross suddenly broke up in a Chandler-Joey centric episode, I was quite confused.  But thankfully I figured out it was a clip show.  Hehe.

quiet_tiger: (Default)

My grandmother just died.  Unlike the great-great uncle I mentioned a couple of weeks ago, I actually knew this woman.  Spent Christmases and stuff with her.  She wasn't a particularly nice woman, which may not be appropriate to say, but she wasn't.

She hasn't had much holding her to life the last several years, so it wasn't as if this was a surprise.  I still feel really bad for my mom though (it was her mother).  Again, I'm not really sure what to feel.  I don't do death very well, or appropriately.  I guess I just haven't felt really close to anyone in my family who has died (one teeny advantage of never seeing anyone other than at family parties, like the reunion for my dad's side coming up this weekend).

I just feel awful for my mom.  I have no idea what it's like to lose a parent.  She's been preparing herself mentally the last few weeks, which is good.  I just don't know what I can do; I'm utterly useless in these situations.

(and for my RL friends, this isn't the grandmother you've all met at one point or another- that's my dad's mom, the one who lives in town).

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags